milestones.

What a lovely day – and it isn’t even 8 am yet!

It’s Monday and I’m not at work. I’ve taken a day off to be with my son. We don’t get enough annual leave to take all the school holidays off, so for half term we settled for a long weekend.

Its a great feeling, to wake up on a Monday, without the alarm clock and to not have to worry about getting up.

image

A typical English milestone. Found by the side of old roads and canals. Used for navigation in the days before cars! This looks quite modern, but some are hundreds of years old. I will try to find one of you!

Stre e e tch! Wait a minute! My back doesn’t hurt! Gets out of bed, makes a cup of tea. Bends down to get milk out of the fridge, no problem. What did I do right? Need to think about that.

Gets back into bed with tea to read ‘slow burn’ . I’m on chapter 20. Waist to hip ratios. Less than 0.8 and I’m successfully fat burning. Greater than 0.8 and I’m still sugar dependant. I haven’t taken any hip or waist measurements for months, but I know that I’m not dependant on sugar like I used to be.

I look on ‘my fitness pal’ where I have been recording my weight and body fat on a daily basis for the last 3 years with occasional hip and waist measurement.

Over the last 3 months I haven’t lost any weight, but in the same time my body fat percentage has dropped from 27.1 to 25.5. And my waist to hip ratio? 0.82 3 months ago, Β and I appear to have lost 2 inches from my hips and 3.5 inches off my waist giving me a new ratio of 0.79 .

So there you go! If you want to lose fat and build muscle, cut out refined sugar, eat fewer carbs and take regular, more gentle, aerobic exercise – or at least that’s what has worked for meπŸ™‚ Β And bear in mind, that for me this has meant a lot of walking in my runs to stay aerobic.

Time for a day out now!

Wishing you all a happy Monday too😘

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, balance, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, holidays, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, muscle building, My fitness pal, Nutrition, positive mental attitude, reading, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, treadmill, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to milestones.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    😘 lovely post! I need some PMA today… I don’t want to work anymore and being here is depressing me! Need to make a change xxx have a LOVELY DAY with the kid xxx enjoy enjoy!!!!

  2. Gareth says:

    Ok stupid question from the uninitiated but how do you measure body fat?

  3. Reducing sugar is definitely key for me, but I don’t cut it out altogether It would be healthier to do so, but having a healthy treat works for me. Pretty sure I’m not fat burning tho. πŸ™‚

    I do a very informal carb cycling — more on run days, less on non-run days. Try to lean more towards whole food carbs like bananas, sweet potatoes, brown rice. And oatmeal — I know I’m leaner if I cut out oatmeal too, but life is less satisfying that way.

    Sounds like you’re doing great!

  4. Yay!!! Isn’t it great if things just work 😊 congratulations. I just finished the book yesterday.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, a pleasant surprise! I felt ok with it anyway but it’s encouragement to keep it up. I confess I reached those last few chapters on nutrition yesterday and put it away without reading them as I’ve already got my nutrition strategy! Been working on my boys to reduce sugar too. Starting with cutting out the breakfast cereal. They are up for it so let’s see how it goes!

  5. Awesome progress!! Celebrate every single success and be proud!! πŸ˜€

  6. Totally summed that up right Julie, carbs, sugar and gentle exercise. And as for a Monday long weekend, lovely!

Leave a Reply

