Random thoughts.

I’m missing a big theme for my blog this week so I just thought I’d share a random thought or two.

Treadmill #1

yay fantastic! Doubled my mileage in week 1!

Treadmill #2

my treadmill doesn’t have a name. Related to this is the fact that last week we had a family day out to Joderell Bank to look at radio telescopes. (Opportunity to insert photograph in an otherwise dull and picture free post)

IMG_1017.JPG

Yes, this is what geeky nerdy science type families do for fun. We like to giggle knowingly to each other at the lovely understatement of super telescopes being named the ‘very large telescope’ or ‘extremely large telescope’. It’s like a nerdy in joke – we’re so clever that we don’t need to think of a catchy acronym or name for our ‘very large telescope’. Let’s just call it that 😊

I realised we were a nerdy science family when my son started school and we noticed that all his teddy bears were named things like ‘blue elephant’ ‘fluffy bear’ and ‘monkey’.  Twenty plus soft toys and not a hint of imagination or anthromorphism.  Oops. We express our creativity in other ways- I expect😳

And so to the treadmill. I have observed that other people have named theirs.  Mine so far remains nameless. Time will tell, if it summons a particular emotion it may become ‘darling treadmill’ or ‘blasted thing’. I’ll keep you posted.

recovery week

I’m having a recovery week.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! It was going well on the treadmill front until Thursday when I just got home feeling exhausted and went to bed early. Throw in a weekend of maintenance, i.e. Dentist , hairdresser, optician with car MOT and other stuff TBA my weekend was full and tiring though not unpleasant. So early to bed tonight. I’ll be raring to go tomorrow😊

 

 

 

 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random thoughts.

  1. Love the big telescope thing! We are the exact same way… AJ’s stuffed animal since babyhoodness is Doggy (it’s a dog, lol), and we call our treadmill “Bitch, ” or any other 4-letter word, ;D

  2. shazruns says:

    I named my treadmill so I could say things like “l’m jumping on Fred” “off to sweat with Fred” “Fred and I spent some time together this morning” etc really just to keep hubby on his toes!

  3. Pragmatism is an art in itself … I go with that. I do name my running shoes though … Maybe that counts?

  4. Gareth says:

    That thing is HUUUUGE (said the actress to the bishop)

    • mawil1 says:

      I think there’s a job for you in astrophysics! There’s only so far you can go with ‘large’ ‘very large’ and ‘extremely large’ . They are going to need those kind of ‘huge’ words soon!!

  5. I just call my treadmill old faithful, cause it’s really, really old.

    I may be a creative type, but not when it comes to names — hence a previous cat named Puss (although it was really meant to be Puss n Boots because of her white socks — but who would actually call a cat that?).

Leave a Reply

