Recovery week over

Maybe I overdid it in my first week on the treadmill with no name. I was loving it, putting in the hours and singing and dancing (ish) and I doubled my mileage in a week. Then I got busy with work and life events and felt …er ….tired. So I had a couple of days off. I decided to call it a ‘recovery ‘ phase. It lasted 10 days😳

Anyway, back at it now. Still aiming for consistency, still doing MAF. Currently aiming for 30 minutes per day as an hour 4 or 5 times a week was hard to fit in. It’s much more achievable to do 30 mins rather than an hour before work.

But my 10 days off mean that I haven’t increased my overall daily average🙄

img_0585

I did wonder today whether I had improved at all in my 6 months of MAF. On the treadmill it’s easier to keep track on your HR and note what your ratio of walking to running is and there’s twice as much walking as running. Looking back though I can see that after the first 3 months my average mile pace at MAF was down to 15 minutes. The second 3 months have seen a couple of gaps and Currently my mile pace about 16. So presumably MAF does work, but only when I’m consistent. I seem to lose fitness very quickly. I still wonder if I’m one of the 10% of the population genetically programmed to ‘not respond’ to aerobic training🤔

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, running, stats geek, time management, training plan, treadmill, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recovery week over

  1. Isn’t it called off-season if it’s for longer than a week? Or tapering? I’m confused …
    For me the improvements come in weird intervals … sometimes I get faster due to recovery and rest … sometimes I don’t at all and then BOOM super increase … and that despite being somewhat consistent. I know for sure that the day or two after recover week is really not speedy and it improves after a couple of days.
    I think I read on Phil’s site that generally one can expect to improve 10 seconds per mile per month … for me it’s more like 10 seconds per km … and that over a long period. I should really map it out …

    • mawil1 says:

      Maybe it will pick up in a few days- I can be ultra consistent on the treadmill! Terminology? I don’t worry about it any more, just stay in my HR band and wait for results!

  2. I was just thinking this morning about how consistency is probably the most important principal in pretty much every pursuit in life!

    It’s so easy to overdo stuff when you’re enjoying yourself. 😦

  3. Gareth says:

    You’re worrying again! Stop fretting and name the treadmill! This will undoubtedly help!

  4. How about Will, something you need to use it, and something we all should write, perhaps not!

Leave a Reply

