I name this treadmill…..🍾

IMG_0588.JPG

We had our first snow yesterday. Just a dusting left on the hills this morning, with 30% chance of snow today.

If the treadmill going to be a big part of my life surely it deserves a name? Everyone else seems to have a name for theirs. Cee jay talks about (dear, departed😔) Roger with all the enthusiasm and passion one might reserve for a teenage romance. Shaz has Fred. Gareth tells me to name it.

Mmm. Not quite my comfort zone.unlike my BFF I never named my first car or anything like that. We have a bad memory for names in our family, is giving names to objects just adding another layer of complexity, or practice at remembering? Naming our son was tricky enough. We gave the responsibility of choosing a Chinese name for him to his grandma (like we had any choice! Chinese mothers are a lot like Jewish mothers😊) but that wasn’t a problem for her- she had it all planned out, at 80 years old she’d been thinking of what to name her first grandchild for at least 20 years so his second name was sorted!

In the end Dave and I were inspired by Brad PItts portrayal of death in the film ‘Joe Black’. Cool, understated, humorous but with deep understanding and compassion.  Plain old Joe it was to be and funnily enough our Joe is all those things, even at the age of 12.

But the treadmill? Obviously it has no inherent personality of its own, only the one I impose upon it.

Is it to be male or female? Do I cast it in the role of ‘best friend’ then she could be Millie? Not very original. If it was to be male he would have to be a ‘fun guy’ so I could call him ‘shiitake’, after all I did cry out ‘shit!’ When I fell off! Shiitake is a bit of a mouthful though, and to shorten it doesn’t give it the good vibe and positive energy I would like it to have.

When I cleared the space in the garage I felt that I was creating a chrysalis.A little cocoon where I would go in for the winter like the running equivalent of a catapillar (belive me that’s a great metaphor on so many levels!) and emerge like a butterfly, a mature and competent runner in the spring😊 Chris could be a contender.

Other positive vibes? I love the sunshine, so I could name it ‘Sonny’ but that would also put me into mum mode, which I don’t want whilst I’m running. I see the treadmill as more of a partner in achieving my running goals, more like a running buddy. There we are! Got it.

I now name this running machine ‘Buddy’.🍾.

I may have to make that official with a bottle of bubbly over the weekend😊

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, treadmill, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I name this treadmill…..🍾

  1. You are so funny!!! Enjoy the bubbles and your buddy. I hope the naming crowd is happy with your choice.

  2. txa1265 says:

    The whole naming thing really IS interesting … I don’t tend to name things, whereas my wife names everything (our new Kitchen Aid is ‘Melissa’, the old one we had for 21 years was ‘Bessie’, for example). I just find it an interesting contrast.

    Enjoy your running buddy!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, to me naming your food mixer is definitely a bit odd! ( although I don’t have one, so I wouldn’t really know!)But I can appreciate that if she likes to cook, and lets face it food mixers are really quite expensive, then she might really value hers and hence she has given it a loving name😊

  3. All male dogs are called buddy. By pretty much everyone. Just sayin’. Like I said, I just call mine Old Faithful.

    We might get snow tomorrow, but today will be warm and the plan is to grill outside. It’s not our first snow this season, remember!

  4. PTcontender says:

    Lol instead of buddy, name it bubbly! Jk buddy is a cute name :)) and I have never been one of those ppl either. I knew a girl who named her car Phillip lol. That was strange

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, the use of ‘people ‘ names is a bit strange. People often use an unpopular people name as a bit of a joke, so for my generation people use Fred, or Bert, as names for cars but now there are children in my sons school called ‘Freddie ‘ and ‘Bertie ‘ who will presumable become Fred and Bert when they get older😊 Likewise with dogs, using people names for dogs is a bit wierd. Mind you I had a bit of culture clash when I went to university and met people called things like ‘samson’ and ‘rufus’ – where I grew up they were definitely dog names!!! So I guess that’s how a university education broadens the mind☺️☺️

      • PTcontender says:

        Yes, that makes sense! I remember in middle school everyone used Fred or Bob lol. That’s so funny how generations change those – Rufus is such a cute dog name btw :)) buddy seems to be a timeless one

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Not too late for Treaddy McTreadmill, is it?

  6. That is a lovely name. Buddy helps you out when you can’t get out to run. Love it. Here’s to many positive moments with Buddy. Cheers Julie!

  7. Darlene says:

    Enjoy Buddy! Hope he is good to you!

  8. CeeJayKay says:

    Yay!!!! LOVE Buddy!!!! Enjoy!
    😍😍😍
    My treadmill down at the gym is Brad… for obv reasons of which MrPitt plays a ‘huge’ part LOL!

  9. Gareth says:

    Welcome Buddy – Or as you shall end up calling it “Bastard pain machine”

  10. shazruns says:

    Buddy is a fantastic name, Fred says hello to Buddy. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

