One size fits all…?

img_0245This is sort of a follow on from my last post about learning to run and how the standard advice didn’t really work for me. Obviously there are going to be people for whom it doesn’t work, there are very few examples in life where the same thing works for everyone.

I was struck, by the comments I got where people had told me what worked for them (thank you everyone!), and couldn’t help but think that our personalities also play a part in what works for us.

When we blog and we share our thoughts and feelings about something, even something as neutral as running, our personalities shine through. Some people love the company of others and that really motivates them. Some love to help others. Some people like to focus more internally, thinking about their form or using the time for quietness or reflection. Some enjoy the outdoors, the scenery and solitude, others relish the physical challenge. Some people ‘just do it’. Some enjoy the physical benefits. Some set goals and go about achieving them in a very methodical way! I suspect that everyone likes a bit of all the above some of the time, but we have our preferred way of behaving that we stick with most of the time.

I realised yesterday that having a treadmill in the garage may be offering me more than just a safe place to run away from the darkness and the weather. It offers me a chance to run in complete solitude. No one to judge me, to give me advice. I don’t think that it’s co incidence that my favourite places to run are on the hills where only like minded people venture! It’s not just the view, it’s ‘getting away from it all’ too.

I also realised how much I rely on technology to support my running. I need all the information and feedback that I get from the data I collect to tell me that it’s working, that there are measurable improvements in my fitness. Why? Because honestly it’s taken a long time (years!) to get to the stage where I can run/walk and enjoy it for its own sake.

Like a miser who sits and physically counts his money every night, I love to check my apps to see;ย how much weight / body fat I have lost this week/month/quarter/year, how many miles I have run this week/month/year, what my average pace or HR are doing. The data reassures me that it’s worth the time and effort that I put in, it tells me what works for me and what doesn’t.

Blogging has also played a big part in keeping me running. I’m in no doubt that I’m at the narrow end of the bell curve when it comes to running ability. In my real life, I’ve encouraged lots of other people to take up running and they have all quickly overtaken me !๐Ÿ˜† Within a few weeks they are running 10minute miles- something I have yet to achieve despite my best efforts! But in the virtual world you can cast your net wider and ‘meet’ people with similar issues and ideas and before you know it you have your own little support network – thank you my blogging friends๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿค—

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, fitness, fun, habits, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, reading, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, time management, training plan, treadmill, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to One size fits all…?

  1. OMG your fat is melting!!! Sorry … but I love those stats and how they encourage us to follow the path that finally works for us …
    I love this post. Thought about you emerging as butterfly in spring while running in my solitary woods enjoying the scenery …

    • mawil1 says:

      Lol! Yes I am pleased with the drop in body fat- despite running similar mileage in the past I never lost any fat, but the slow running and low carbs have made a difference. Still in the same jeans, but less muffin top! I love my stats too – they tell the truth. I’d have sworn that I used to run more miles, but actually the average is a mile per day for the last 3 yrs! The change now is more shorter runs, not just 7 miles at the w/e! But I’m thinking that might go up a bit next year, now I have learned how to do it without stressing my body๐Ÿ˜Š I hope the woods lived up to expectations!

  2. Gareth says:

    Lovely post and it’s always good to read others thoughts. It balances all of us and I’m glad it seems to work for all our group!

  3. So... says:

    It’s been a pleasure to know you. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and love the ease with which they read. Sort of like actually listening to you speak.
    One size definitely does not fit all, especially when there are no shoes! ๐Ÿ˜€ Happy miles to you…

    • mawil1 says:

      ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š I have thought about going barefoot on the treadmill – as it’s mine I can do what I like! I’m so flattered that you enjoy my posts, I’m afraid that they are like me talking as I just tend to write as I speak๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜ When you say ‘it’s been a pleasure to know you’ it sounds like goodbye…. please say that you aren’t giving up blogging? I love reading your blogs too. I like the way that you give me a window to human with similar interests and attitudes, but living in a different country and culture. Please continue!

      • So... says:

        Oh not goodbye, I hope. It’s more like your blog giving a peek into your life. Our blogging journeys began around the same time, I think and it’s been great to be part of the same road. As you say, similar interests and attitudes, but different country and culture.
        Thinking of doing what I did right at the beginnings. 21 days, 21 posts. Maybe that should bring it back…kind of a countdown to Christmas?

  4. oscardiamond says:

    The false gods of speed and distance! One of the reasons why I’m no longer a club runner.
    Cambridge parkrun is like the old News of the World catchphrase “All human life is here.” With a 500+ field on occasions it really is inclusive and all differently motivated.

  5. I know that feeling of encouraging others and then watching them over take me. I feel fast just because I know I played a part in their running. You are wonderful Julie x

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you annie๐Ÿ˜˜ I don’t feel bad about people being better at running than me either. After all, I have chosen a career with the aim of improving people’s health an lives, so this is another way to do that! I have come to accept that maybe this is my role here, that if people see me having a go, they will think ‘well I can do better than that’ and off they go!

  6. Worrying image, great blog!

  7. That’s really weird. I sent my last comment to your previous post, before reading this. (Maybe I subconsciously saw the title as I scanned down my emails, however…) We’re obviously in agreement about each person having their own method of training. ๐Ÿ™‚
    It also occurred to me that you might like to put a large picture on the wall in front of or next to your treadmill. It could either be of a mountain scene or favourite place or other runners (to make you feel like you have support). Or you could have the guys in the above picture of course !?
    If you’d like the original jpeg file from one of my posts, for free of course, just let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      Great minds think alike! I have been searching ‘door wallpaper’ on Amazon. There is lots of choice but sadly the picture of the chaps in hats is not available ๐Ÿ˜‹ As with everything, with me, it requires a great deal of thought, what do I want from my view, what will sustain me without boredom for the next 6 months or so? It’s probably going to be a piece of writing, but thank you for the offer of one of your photographs, they are fabulous๐Ÿ˜Š

  8. Julie, this is a great post & you’re so totally right.

    Of course it will be a while before I recap last weekend’s race, but the running Gods finally aligned everything for me and I had the race I just knew I was capable of (still not 10 mm, not even close!).

    And as I was just writing to a friend, consistency & perseverance are the keys.It won’t happen overnight, or in a year, but if you keep at it, you’ll most likely achieve your goals (if they’re reasonable).

    Now I don’t expect to be anywhere near as fast in my next half, as it will be humid and even though it will be flat, it’s New Orleans, so think uneven roads and cobblestones. But that doesn’t mean I won’t train hard!

Leave a Reply

