Kintsukuroi

img_0627

We are getting to that time of year when people, specifically running people, are going to be reviewing their year and making goals and plans for next year.

I thought that this might be a good time to draw your attention to the japanese art form of kintsukuroi.

This is where a piece of broken pottery is repaired using gold or silver laquer.

The point is that the pot is then considered to be more beautiful and more valuable for having being damaged and repaired.

So if your year hasn’t gone to plan, please reflect on this.

As Neitzsche says,  ‘that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger’.

Be kind to yourself peeps .  Jxx

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kintsukuroi

  1. The damage definitely gives the pot more character. Nice reminder, 😀

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Okay, I agree. I did read bits and pieces of Nietzsche when I was young and I had a look at his many quotes on line. Well worth dipping in to. I’ll hunt for my old Penguin Nietzsches.
    I like : Madness is rare in individuals – but in groups, parties, nations, and ages it is the rule.

    • mawil1 says:

      Excellent quote re madness, and much better than the oft quoted ‘that which doesn’t kill..’ I confess I only read one of his books ‘thus spake Zarathustra ‘ and I got into that from reading Hesse- I had a bit of a literary phase in my late 20’s(trying to make up for my comprehensive education)😳

  3. Love this Julie xxx thank you. I saw a meme that said ‘Your dream doesn’t have an expiration date. Take a deep breath and try again’. Thanks for the beautiful reminder x

    • mawil1 says:

      True, I like to think there’s plenty of time yet and. That I’m going to be fit in old age! I have added walking the Appalachian trail to my retirement bucket list!

  4. That bowl is just beautiful.

    While I had a really good year running, and some fantastic vacations, overall it was still a very tiring, stressful year.

    When we went to Sedona, my husband worried I wouldn’t be able to enjoy it. But I am very good at compartmentalizing things, for the most part. And it always helps to reflect on how good you have things, no matter how bad it may seem, because there is always someone worse off. Often, MUCH worse off.

    Count your blessings!

  5. So... says:

    That’s the beauty of being human, isn’t it? Flawed and beautiful. There cannot be happy without sad, no music without silence. We need imperfection to be perfect…

    • mawil1 says:

      Very true. And I believe that ultimately it is all in balance. Although those beliefs are tested when we see what is happening in the war zones of the world.

Leave a Reply

