Adapt or die!

img_0274

Sometimes the same theme crops up in life again and again.

Although the ‘adapt or die ‘ quote is attributed to Darwin’s theory of evolution, one of my colleagues is quite fond of it and applies it a lot to work situations. He loves it so much that he named his band after it – the rock band he formed in his late 50’s.

I was also having a ‘blogversation’ ( see what I did there!) with chocolaterunsjudy  where she said that ‘there is no age cap on having fun’. So how do you have fun when you are older?  Well you have to adapt, because let’s face it, if you don’t, you won’t have fun, and life’s no fun without it!

one needs to adapt, because the things that were fun when you were young may not be possible when you are old, we change physically and because we mature mentally, even if we can still do whatever it is, it might not give us the same pleasure. So for instance as a runner one might need to adapt because if you enjoyed good times and PB’s in your 20’s, that’s not going to happen in your 60’s so you need to find something else to enjoy about it.

This week I have had to adapt. I might have mentioned that my recent plans have all fallen apart because of my chest infection. I’ve missed a party, I’ve missed shopping for a party, I’ve missed Christmas shopping, running and sleep. After 10 days it’s easing a bit. I’ve reached the stage where exhaustion trumps the cough  and I can sleep so deeply that the cough doesn’t wake me -for about 4 hours. So there has been some late night activity on social media and  I’ve read a couple of books.

A couple of nights ago I woke up at 4am. What to do? Wide awake. OK sitting up but can’t lie down without coughing. 🤔 Oh – I know! I’ll write a novel.

Actually that’s a bit of a fib. I started it almost a year ago. I really like my plot but after I’d written a couple of chapters I was disappointed with it – my writing style was more ‘chick lit’ than literary and I was struggling to see how I could give my characters more depth. It was harder than I had anticipated to write.Then I became unwell and didn’t touch it for months.

The other night I opened it and read it – and it was OK😊 So, maybe my writing style is a bit ‘chick lit’ but I’m OK with that, in my dreams I’d like to write something that I can make money from! So I started work on it, and do you know what, I had such a lot of fun! I’m enjoying creating my people, thinking how they behave, what kind of people do they need to be to do the things I need them to do to make the plot work.  I just really enjoyed being completely absorbed in it, being in another world.

So until I can run and get back to my social life, I want to put in a few more hours into the novel.  If I make good progress I’ve got my eye on a writers workshop in March….  Apparently the average 1st novel is 80,000 words so I’m 10% of the way there already!

Have you ever had to adapt in order to have fun?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, fun, habits, holidays, Inspiration, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, reading, running, time management, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Adapt or die!

  1. So stoked about your novel! Have you read Steven King’s ‘On Writing’?

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Forget FUN!!!!! A NOVEL???? Oh wow!!!!! That is like faaaabulously kewl!!!!! Can I design your cover? And hey some ‘chick lit’ have made best seller lists over and over… just do what you love, enjoy and HAVE FUN with!!!! Soooo exciting!!!!! Wow xxx

  3. Lol we are all so excited about your novel! That is amazing :)) also hope you get better soon.

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    No silly 😂 for ME!!!!!

  5. Oh, I hope that cold eases up! While I hate being sick in the summer, for instance, it really does suck during the holidays.I haven’t been nearly as sick, but I am really exhausted, too, and not from lack of sleep.

    But on the bright side — look at you writing. I like chic lit. Nothing at all wrong with that. I am more diarist, though, I don’t create characters (except occasionally for fun), so I bow down to those how do.

    I think we’re constantly changing — or at least, I hope we are! I think if we stop changing then we age. Not that we can actually stop aging, but we may feel older if we’re not changing & adapting.

    I can think of a few people in my life like that . . .

    • mawil1 says:

      True, being stuck in a rut makes you appear older, whether it’s you hairstyle, clothes or attitudes!

      • Absolutely ! Although my hairstyle never changes. Hmmm . . .

      • mawil1 says:

        😂 well sometimes you just find what suits you and you stick to it! Your hair looks very natural and that never dates! But the chances. Are that if you have your hair ‘set’ in rollers you are probably 80! I see some women in clinic who have hairstyles from the 80’s, geometric short cuts etc whereas if they just softened it a little it would look more modern and a bit younger!

      • Nope, I just let mine air dry. When it’s warmer I braid it or put it in a bun sometimes. 😊

      • mawil1 says:

        Isn’t it the middle of the night where you are?? Can’t you sleep?😊😊

      • No it’s almost 6 am. I’ve been up since about 4 am . . . I go to bed by 9 pm, though. Just naturally a morning person. I like to sleep til 5 am but often doesn’t happen.

        I really wanted to stay in bed cause it’s so cold but I can only lay there for so long!

      • mawil1 says:

        I try to sleep 10 til 6. I used to stay up later but I find my mood is a lot better if I go to bed earlier! I know what you mean about waking up too early – it’s cold and dark so you can’t really do much until the sun rises (or I can’t – there’s no reason why I can’t switch all the lights on downstairs and do some ironing or something, but I just prefer doing chores in daylight?). It’s nice to get back into bed with a cup of tea- but I have to do it in the dark- hubs doesn’t like to be disturbed before his alarm goes of at 7!

      • My husband started getting up earlier this year – 6 am -6:30.

        When it’s warmer I often do yoga when I can’t sleep; it’s hard to motivate when it’s cold.

        How are you feeling?

      • mawil1 says:

        Much better thank you. Last night I slept through for the first time in nearly 2. Weeks bliss!!

      • Excellent! Here’s to a full recovery. The worst is when you’re sick & can’t sleep. But now you can enjoy the remainder of your holidays!

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes I hope so! 😊 Thank you

  6. So... says:

    I want a signed copy!

  7. Adapt and improvise! A favorite motto of mine! (because things never go as planned) 😀

  8. I love Chick Lit! Can’t wait to read it.

  9. oscardiamond says:

    Nothing wrong with chick lit.It’s entertaining, fun and people will read it for enjoyment. You can easily retain the style and put in little clever bits which amuse you or give a message. Most serious literature sells in tiny amounts despite being “acclaimed” critically.

    • mawil1 says:

      Sometimes it’s harder to write than expected! A whole afternoon of thinking and only 200 words! But it’s still fun. Have you revisited your children’s book?

      • oscardiamond says:

        Yes, it is fun because you’re creating your own world. I like making myself laugh.It’s enjoyable doing the research, too. One of the things I was looking forward to was coming into contact with people in the publishing/book world. I’m sure you would be entertained by creative, arty types as a nice contrast to practical, hard nosed medics. There’s lots of examples of high flying people with dual careers.
        I have been thinking about what I need to do to my children’s book (especially since I did 75,000 words) but I’m actively rewriting a crime story. Do take up the writing group/course. It’s great to be around other people who take writing relatively seriously.

Leave a Reply

