Recovery time.

img_0645

For two nights I have slept properly so it is time to declare my illness over.

A quick survey of the wreckage reveals 2 weeks of no running, poor sleep, staying awake at night sucking cough sweets (full of sugar so not low carb), a couple of parties involving a moderate amount of alcohol consumption, wheat based deserts and high heels, also some cosy afternoons toasting marshmallows and watching films with my son. There’s been a little bit of weight gain and a few aches and pains in my knees. It’s time to get back into the routine that was working so well for me.

Today I started with a recovery walk and I managed to persuade my 12yr old to come with me. I only persuaded him because I offered to ‘cheat’. ย Our house is at 400ft elevation and we drove to a car park at 1000 ft so that we could enjoy the views.

img_0640

it was lovely to be out. We walked a couple of miles and climbed another 500ft. We crossed Pendleton moor and found the path that leads to Pendle hill then turned back, thats a trip for another time. In all it’s about nine miles from our house, one day I hope to run there and back, (18 miles) but until then I’m planning to do segments of it then add them together.

Planning a gentle jog tomorrow!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Recovery time.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Yay! Stoked you hear that your Well on the mend! Well done for looking after yourself! ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

  2. Yay! So glad to hear you are better after so long and at a terrible time of year to be ill. Here’s to a healthy and fit 2017.

  3. Darlene says:

    So glad that you are on the mend. Love your pics – so pretty.

  4. shazruns says:

    Glad you on mend, let’s hope it stays away.

Leave a Reply

