TTF (total techno failure!)

Sunday started with an easy walk.

Monday I was re united with buddy. On impulse I decided to run barefoot! Maybe it wasn’t quite impulse – during my long nights awake coughing I re read my MAF book and Phil advocates barefoot running. All my life I’ve been barefoot indoors so I have a good grounding and running on the treadmill wasn’t a problem. Actually it feels quite good it makes me feel aware of the amazing design and biomechanics of the human body. I could feel my legs absorbing energy and springing back: they felt like those running blades that you see in the para-olympics look!

I’d lost  a bit of speed at MAF compared to my last run before I was ill but not panicking about it (yet).

Tuesday I had calves of steel! Painful, unyielding, calves of steel! I didn’t run that day😳

Today, back to Buddy for another run. Buddy was fine, but he wasn’t playing with my phone. The music was fast forwarding and skipping and doing silly things. I thought that it might have been something touching the screen so I put the  phone on a chair next to buddy. However next thing- Siri keeps spontaneously switching on and off. 😤😤 To add insult to injury my HRM wasn’t picking up my pulse. I started off with trainers on, not wanting to repeat the steel calves. Compared to Monday my feet felt wooden, inflexible and sort of numb, so after 10 mins I took them off. So in the end I just ran by feel, barefoot with intermittent music. And it was a good run! About a minute per km faster than normal. After that I got my casserole out of the oven and it was, well a bit crispy looking😳  Another technological  let down!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to TTF (total techno failure!)

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh wow! That’s amazing!!!! Slow is going to LOVE this blog post!!! 😘😘😘

  2. Hi Julie,
    I’ve never tried running in barefeet, but one of my (many) memories of the Prague marathon was of a guy running passed me in bare feet – on the cobbles! I’m not sure I’d get away with training in the snow like that though!

    • mawil1 says:

      I seriously doubt that I would run barefoot outdoors! Amazing how a thin layer of clothing (or two) makes the difference between comfortable and hypothermia!

  3. I wouldn’t run barefoot outdoors either … not that I didn’t try. With a buddy it’s a different thing 😁

  4. 50in50marathonquest says:

    I don’t do barefoot too well and I’d certainly never try running barefoot…I think I’m probably more on the maximalist side of the debate…I want cushion on foam on top of air riding on gel pads…well maybe not quite that much but at least the middle bit…I gotta have some cushioning..btw, Merry Christmas to you and your family, Cheers!!

    • mawil1 says:

      As I’m very low mileage it’s not too big a deal to make the switch! I don’t think you could just. Slip your shoes off and do 10miles ! Merry Christmas to you all too, I hope that you have a lovely time!

  5. So... says:

    Awesome! Doesn’t it just feel light. Calves of lead would be more like it …😀. It happens when you take off too soon, too fast. Best is to find the most difficult surface so it naturally contains the speed and distance.
    I’m so thrilled to hear your happy run barefoot.

    • mawil1 says:

      I’m sure that I did too much too soon, but it does feel good! I’m happy to put up with a bit of calf pain because I think that I’ll adapt and that in the long run it will be better for my form, my back and everything. But running on a treadmill is different to outdoors, the belt pulls your foot back rather than having to push so I will need to re adjust when I go back out. I can’t imagine running barefoot outdoors in the uk except for in a park or on a beach😊 But who knows?

      • So... says:

        I’ve never run on a treadmill. There’s this funny image in my head of falling off it. 😀 It’s surprising how the feet adapt to different surfaces if you give it time. I never though I would be a barefoot runner.👣 The calf pain goes with a hot pack and some stretches.

      • mawil1 says:

        It took some getting used toespecially the one I bought for home as it is smaller than the ones you get at the gym. So you do notice if you wobble a bit, and of course barefoot you are aware of your feet adapting. I don’t heel strike so that helps. I think you do run differently to outdoors, but I know that it is keeping me going through the winter so come the lighter days I will just adapt again. But I think it’s good to have some variety-different muscle groups get woken up and worked a bit!

  6. shazruns says:

    I’ve tried this also with the same results so now always wear trainers, but a lighter pair. Technology is a ***** sometimes

  7. I’ve been struggling with technology lately too. Got a new phone and had the damndest time transferring stuff — finally managed it yesterday, and then suddenly my Ipod Touch went nuts.

    I run barefoot sometimes on the treadmill, but just for a short time. I worry a bit about things like plantar’s warts.

    Since I’m not training for anything right now, I don’t worry about speed.at.all. Which can be pretty freeing. 🙂 That ends soon, I really have to get to work on a training plan! And places to stay!

  8. I’ve read about barefoot running but not done it. When I bought some trail shoes mid this year the wonderful man who fits me for shoes cautioned me about running too fast in them. They have a lower heel drop to my usual shoes. He said to go carefully with the change. Could this be similar to going from shoes with a heel to no heel barefoot? Maybe….I don’t know. I hope the technology is working again!

Leave a Reply

