2016 review

What a year!

I don’t suppose I’ll ever get over the fact that 2016 was the year I had a ‘nervous breakdown’ but I’m going to re brand it as the year of ‘personal growth and learning’. So having dispatched the elephant from the room, what were the highs and lows of 2016?

January

This was my highest mileage month ever, with 64 miles (102km). Although it was hard work, I remember my 8 mile run in the snow along the canal wearing my new windstopper goretex leggings. At the time I didn’t appreciate it, thinking only of the challenges ahead on my marathon training plan (a symptom of my impending problems I expect) but I remember that snowy run fondly.

I never really appreciated what a good running month that was, in terms of miles and consistency, so I’m appreciating it now instead!

February/March weren’t good times and I sought solace in cake.

April

imageย I Read this book. Contemplated his views on the holistic approach, stress, cortisol production, sugar metabolism and anaerobic exercise. I decided to give it a go with the ‘ 2 week test’ ย (carb free) and the 180 formula.

May

This was when I didn’t do the Edinburgh marathon. Once the date had passed I did ease back into some gentle jogging.

That summer I managed to exercise (not all running to keep my HR down)consistently, lose weight, lose body fat and gain muscle mass. The maffetone method appeared to be working for me so I stuck with it.

July

We ย moved house and I found some new running routes. I particularly enjoyed running accross the top of wiswell moor on a beautiful sunny day. I’ve enjoyed finding new routes, being in the hills and enjoying the views.

September

Bittersweet. I had a big BIG birthday! Hubs took me for a surprise trip to Florence, (with my trainers) but I never did get up early enough for that first light run around the duomo! Sadly it meant that the deadline had passed for my ambition of running a marathon before I’m 50. However, with reflection I came to see that being 50 didn’t mark the end of my youthful, fun life so there’s was no need to fit the marathon in before I got there. In fact, no reason to fit a marathon in at all, unless I’m enjoying it.

November

I bought Buddy. It’s a new way of doing things. I can jog at a slow pace, any time I like in the comfort of my own home. I can listen to music and sing along ((badly!) in complete privacy. It has added a new element of fun to running – winter running in particular.

image

December
My first attempts at barefoot running on the treadmill. Interesting! Where will this lead?

Overall there have been a lot of positives in my running year. I feel stronger. I can walk around and carry stuff without getting short of breath. I feel like I’m standing up straight, my legs feel strong. I don’t dread the stairs. My back doesn’t hurt as much as it used to – that could be the weight loss. I can wear the ‘small’ theatre blues so I never run out of clothes- there’s always plenty of small on the shelf!

writing my blog as been a positive too. I’ve had so much support and fun with fellow bloggers๐Ÿ˜Š Thank you all!

so despite its problems, 2016 has been a positive year. I have learned a lot and have had the opportunity to develop a a solid base for future running, a healthy base that doesn’t leave me tired and exhausted.

here’s ย to 2017!

 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, low intensity, maffetone methid, marathon, middle aged women, positive mental attitude, reading, running, slow run, stats geek, Stress, training plan, treadmill, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 2016 review

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Julie. 2016 has certainly had some lows for you (hugs) but also some pretty awesome highs. Here’s to a wonderful 2017 x

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, it’s been a roller coaster for you too Annie๐Ÿ˜ณ Here’s to 2017 – enjoy the highs -and the lows? Well we just squeeze the juice out of them and move on!! ๐Ÿ‹ ๐Ÿ‹ ๐Ÿน ๐Ÿธ ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜˜

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    You rock Jules!!!! Wishing you and the boys a wonderful festive season and the best year ahead!
    ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

    • mawil1 says:

      You too Cee Jay! I hope that Barbara passes you by and you have a lovely holiday in Cornwall! We went to a place close to where you are going called crantock bay -our first holiday wth joe-many years ago and we loved it๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š looking forwards to setting goals for next year and I’m sure that you will be too! Wishing you all the best, in particular good health and happiness!๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

  3. Gareth says:

    So many positives. No experience is wasted if you live n learn. Plus has buddy got disco lights!?

  4. So... says:

    An eventful 2016! Here’s to a fantastic 2017 to you and your family.
    Looking forward to reading your posts (and book) in the coming year.

    • mawil1 says:

      Wishing you a fabulous 2017 too! Will you be setting any goals? Having finished 2016 on a high with your half marathon what next? I’m looking forwards to hearing more about your minimalist approach, I think that there’s a lot I can learn from your experience so please continue to share! Sending you my best wishes and hopes for continuing pleasure in your running!

      • So... says:

        Thanks Julie.
        I’ve enjoyed the year transitioning slowly to being a barefoot runner. Lately, I’ve noticed that I am getting faster too! In fact, I ran my fastest 5k yesterday and it didn’t feel that hard.
        So perhaps some speed and perhaps a full by the end of next year… I really want to go back to Coorg. ๐Ÿ˜Š
        Wish you fun with the barefoot exploration.. Maybe we can run together some day.๐Ÿ‘ฃ

      • mawil1 says:

        Well done on your 5k PB! If I’m ever in Pune I’ll let you know! (Stranger things have happened) likewise, if you are visiting the U.K., let me know๐Ÿ˜Š

      • So... says:

        I met two blogger friends in the last couple of months… one in Canada and another in Pune.. so not quite that strange for me anymore ๐Ÿ˜Š

  5. Wishing you a very happy new year. Don’t forget that you can always walk!

    • mawil1 says:

      I can and I do! This year I have realised how beneficial walking actually is! Pushing a pram counts too, as does walking and talking to someone who is pushing a pram๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š enjoy!

  6. Walking is still a big part of my fitness routine (aka walking the dogs most days). Sometimes it seems so hard that we have to hit the lows to appreciate the highs, but there it is — it’s a universal truth.

    As much as December can be a depressing month, the new year is always filled with such anticipation and hope. I think you are on the right track for you — here’s to a very happy new year, Julie!

  7. shazruns says:

    Quite a year! All the best for 2017 x

Leave a Reply

