Catkins

 

New Year’s Day saw me taking a walk rather than a run. Yes, I went too far with the barefoot thing. I’d been doing it all week, then on New Year’s Eve tried to do an hour with Buddy. After 20 minutes the pain in the outside of my left foot was causing my ankle to give way a bit, so I just did a fast walk for the rest of it. The next day I decided to rest, but hubs was up for a little walk so we just pootled a couple of miles. To the pub – which was open! But it wasn’t but pre meditated and we hadn’t brought any money, so we just pootled back home again!

we saw lambs tails/catkins in the hedge, and fully grown sheep enjoying a sheep-y haystack Christmas cake.

Yesterday I put my shoes back on and it was fine. Today I tried again without, but it was immediately sore, so I ran with shoes again.

I’m thinking about a parkrun for Saturday, just to see how it goes. There will be lots of New Years resolution people there, so it might be too busy , but I will think about it😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, fun, habits, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, parkrun, running, slow run, stats geek, treadmill, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Catkins

  1. Gareth says:

    Sheeps! Good thinking on the rest, as I have learned don’t push foot injuries hence a sensible little break for me too. Just see how you feel for parkrun – remember there are always 51 more this year!

    • mawil1 says:

      Well when you put it like that….. but it would be nice to do a run without sticking to the HR and much though I love Buddy for a bit of a change!

  2. I think you should try the parkrun! Nothing ventured nothing gained.

    When I ran barefoot on my treadmill, it was only for maybe a mile. Like anything, you need to ease into it.

  3. So... says:

    Please ease slowly into barefoot. I messed up the first time around. It worked only when I started with just walking barefoot for a while before starting to walk/ run and then run. The slower you transition, the stronger the feet. We spend a lot many years in shoes, can’t undo all that in weeks. Happy barefooting though! 👣

  4. oscardiamond says:

    1. They meet my definition of a catkin.
    2. Those sheep look mildly exotic in the golden sunshine.
    3.Treadmills can be rather unforgiving. Advice about a slow transition is sound.
    4. Do parkrun but remember speed is a false god.

Leave a Reply

