just for today.

Week 1 of 2017. I have set myself the goal of running 14miles per week average by the end of March. At my MAF pace that works out at just under 4hours running per week.

My first week of the new year has got off to a good start. 11 miles, four runs.

img_0679

We were discussing achieving goals in the coffee room at work last week – someone has given up smoking as a New Years resolution – and we talked about ‘just for today’. It was a tactic I used when I gave up sugar and it worked really well for me. You tell yourself when temptation comes your way ‘just for today, I just have to get through today’ without sugar/cigarette etc. Of course, if you do, you feel like you have achieved something at the end of the day. And the next day you do it all again, until eventually it becomes a new way of life.

I wonder if it works as well for adding something in?

‘Just for today I’m going to do 30 minutes on the treadmill.’ I’ve tried this before with running outdoors, and failed. Having the treadmill at home means that I don’t have to worry about darkness, weather, babysitter, what to wear etc.

So just for 5 days , 2miles per day at MAF pace. Next weekend I will see how I feel and decide whether to have a longer run and a rest day or just stick to short runs.

One week at a time. 14 miles this week, that’s all. Review next weekend and plan the week after then.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, positive mental attitude, running. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to just for today.

  1. Usually adding something in is easier than subtracting something.

    Every person is so different — what motivates me probably wouldn’t motivate you (being signed up for a race). The most important thing is to find *your* why. And keep that front & center.

    • mawil1 says:

      I confess that sometimes I don’t really know why!! I think weight management is a big motivator for me, being fit enough to walk upstairs, feeling stronger, investing in my health for my old age, enjoying either the music or scenery as I run but nothing that has a deadline and presses me to do it today. So just do it – today- has to be the way forwards!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    i LOVE ‘just for one week’… LOVE it!

    • mawil1 says:

      And then…. I just went to a party and agreed to join a couch to 5k group starting tomorrow! I’m joining the beginners group (if I get home from work on time). So long as they do 2miles and it’s below MAF I should be fine….. 😳😳

  3. Gareth says:

    I will be following progress! No pressure :p

  4. oscardiamond says:

    Sounds like a good plan to me. Are you still on a reduced sugar regime?

    • mawil1 says:

      Some sugar lapses over the festive season- I ate about 8oz of cebrations etc on New Year’s Eve but I enjoyed eating them and they are all gone now!!!

      • oscardiamond says:

        Yes, we had a fling with celebrations. Collectively we are very naughty. But on a day to day basis have you reduced or stopped sugary cereals, cakes, biscuits, desserts etc?

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes, I stopped eating refined sugar October 2105. So I stopped sugar in coffee, swapped my breakfast of toast with marmalade for either plain full fat yoghurt or eggs. No more jars of ready made pasta sauce, lots more veg (in cream or cheese if necessary for interest), salad with meat cheese or fish for lunch. Virtually no cakes, biscuits or sweets. No desserts.Once I stopped the sugar I stopped craving sweet things. I also gave up anything made with flour, so no bread, pasta or pastry. If I want a snack I have nuts or very dark chocolate. I think that it’s the change in diet that caused my weight loss, as over the years my average mileage hasn’t changed at all! It actually feels a little bit good to be able to say no to a slice of cake and not feel that you are missing out! Are you just starting out with reducing sugar or have you been doing it for a while? Oh I don’t have any artificial sweeteners either!

      • oscardiamond says:

        That is a very considerable achievement. Very impressive. I can’t match that. I have substantially reduced sugary foods and don’t crave them but will eat to excess over Christmas. Bread is much harder to give up although I’m more careful now. Luckily weight gain is not an issue for me. I still like looking at cakes and desserts in shops and supermarkets and it’s not accompanyed by longing. Must be some weird sugar bereavement playing its self out.

      • mawil1 says:

        Not that impressive☺️ I suspect that I’m quite ‘carb intolerant’ and because I got such a big pay off from giving them up – no cravings, no mind fluffing hypo’s it was easier to stay off! Fortunately I seem to be able to have the odd day off Christmas, new year, parties etc without going back to square one! I dare say it wouldn’t work for everyone, but I’m pleased to have found something that works for me!

  5. Just for today is such a good tactic! ❤

Leave a Reply

