How do YOU ride the roller coaster?

Apologies if anyone has missed me over the last couple of weeks. I’ve been awol.

I’ve been away for a few days, both social and work, then a short week to recover and get all my chores done before having friends to visit last weekend –and then? I dunno but I fell off the wagon – the Maffetone wagon. No long slow runs, no short slow runs, no runs of any kind, oh and cake. On a number of occasions.

I ate cake because I was feeling down. Maybe it was the lack of running, maybe it was the loss of routine. So highs and lows. It got me thinking about the roller coaster metaphor for life. ( and Shazza too – see shazruns!)

So how do you ride the roller coaster? Do you get to the top, put your hands in the air and squeal with delight as you plummet towards the ground as fast as gravity allows? Or do you grip the safety rail, tense your body rigidly, clinging on for dear life and close your eyes so that you can’t see the full horror of the danger you are in? Do you wish it was all over, that you’d never got on, that you don’t want to be there?

I decided that the roller coaster wasn’t a good metaphor for me. It isn’t a ride that I would choose, but I do choose life, so there must be another metaphor for my life.
I thought a while.
My life metaphor isn’t even in the fairground.

It’s in the hills! Of course it is, where else?

You start on a walk, there’s always going to be a climb to get where you want to be. It will be hard work but hopefully it will be enjoyable. There will be grass and streams and scenery, you can either rush past it and press on, or stop to enjoy it, depending on how keen you are to reach the peak.

The climb may get harder, but then you will stop and look back to enjoy the view of where you’ve been. You can see a hill top, you push towards it, but when you get there you realise that it isn’t the top, maybe you’d looked at the map and you knew all along, but either way you press on.
Eventually you reach the peak. The views are great and there’s a sense of accomplishment, but funnily enough despite all that effort you don’t stay there. It’s cold, it’s windy and there isn’t much room. You might be on your own so you stay as long as you like, but in the end you know that you have to leave to find food, shelter and company. There may be a crowd of people jostling to be at the top – they have climbed too so it’s only fair to step aside and let them enjoy the view they have worked for.
Maybe from the top you see another peak, possibly more interesting than where you are. So you climb down and then back up again. Your experience from the last peak may have made you fitter so it’s easier, or maybe you haven’t allowed yourself to recover properly, so it’s harder. Eventually you decide to head for home. Going downhill can be easy if the path is smooth and gentle or dangerous if too steep.

All the way the route you choose will determine your experience, how hard it is, how much you get out of it.

I love the hills and a much better metaphor for me😊

Just for the record I have squeezed in a couple of walks. Today I walked to the castle and back – prep for eventually running it. 9 miles in total. Last week 6 miles on the hill.

fullsizerender

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, blogging, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, heartrate, hills, Inspiration, low intensity, maffetone methid, middle aged women, Motivation, slow run, Stress, Uncategorized, walking, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to How do YOU ride the roller coaster?

  1. shazruns says:

    Oh I love this. Hills is a perfect thing to compare life to, and like I say to the kids the best views come from climbing the hardest hills!

  2. Hills and mountains are indeed a better metaphor. However if compared to life going downhill, running down is much more awesome.
    Looks like we all had some sort of a break! Makes for a good restart … or so I tell myself. Maybe this way we can climb higher heights?

    • mawil1 says:

      Whearas life is boring when it reaches a plateaux, I always find it a bit of a relief when running. Yup definitely re start time. I haven’t given up on my goals. I keep telling myself, the days are getting longer, I can’t wait for the increased daylight! It will be so much better😊

  3. You know, I did miss you & was just about to find out if I’d just missed a post or reach out to you.

    Winter is so hard; it can be very hard to find motivation.

    I’m not sure what is the right metaphor for me, but interesting thoughts, Julie (as always).

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    My fave quote….

    The man on top of the mountain? He did not fall there…

    😘

  5. Nice post! You’re right that the rollercoaster metaphor isn’t quite right, as whatever you do on the way down, you will end up going back up again, even if not as high as the time before. The hills (or mountains, and obviously I’m biassed here) are much, much better. You plan your route and, if you’ve not been too ambitious (and you’re a reasonable navigator) you will get there (and back hopefully). The next route may be the same, (and it may be faster – but hey, does it matter with all those views and people around?), or a higher or a longer route, which, if you’re sensible, you will probably also achieve. And so it goes on until you’ve climbed your personal Everest. 🙂

  6. myquietroar says:

    I love this metaphor! I especially like it because I can factor in duvet days and down time while still wanting to make plans for future peaks, most of them stay there ready for our efforts when we’re in the right place for them – the castle will be there when you get back running, but fine for it to be in your own time!

  7. So... says:

    I was wondering about where you had disappeared! Good to see your post. Looks like we all have been having little step-backs. But the best part is that we bounce back. It’s good you went back to shoes, I did that too when I first started. The key is very, very, very slow and varied surfaces besides stretching well. Hope this doesn’t take you away from it for good.

    Love the hills metaphor and how you’ve painted it.

    • mawil1 says:

      You were definitely right about the slow build up. Ow my feet are feeling normal I will give it a small try again!i hope that you get back to fitness soon!

  8. Darlene says:

    How interesting. I’m not sure what my metaphor would be – definitely ups and owns – not sure if they are hills but them seem like mountains at the time.

    Good to have you back.
    Can’t wait until you run up that hill.

    • mawil1 says:

      There’s a hill here I’m going to run one day, I’ve walked bits. But not doing it in the winter! It’s been lovely that everyone has been so positive. I think January has created a lull for quite a few people one way and another.

      • Darlene says:

        Yes it has. We will get through this. I can’t wait to hear that you’ve run up that hill. I know you will.

  9. oscardiamond says:

    Take it easier on yourself: give your scientific, competitive brain more of a rest: consider the Galloway method: don’t punish yourself over cake: and remember, as Freud said regarding metaphors “Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.”

Leave a Reply

