It’s on it’s way!

Springtime.

img_0740

So much more going for it than Christmas!

I made it out for a daylight run /walk.  Just under 5 miles. Average HR 135, so 10 above MAF but it was comfortable enough. Snowdrops are out everywhere!

Apologies for being less present in the blogosphere just now. As I haven’t been outdoors much there are fewer pictures, and there’s only so much you can say about running on a treadmill!

I’m also spending a bit more of my writing time and energy  working on my novel. Today I have been re-writing chapter 4 (I’ve only got 5 chapters so far!!). It wasn’t really working for me so I’m re doing it. Not as much fun as writing a new chapter- no increase in the word count so it doesn’t feel like progress, but I know that it’s time well spent.

To those of you in the northern hemisphere, happy running in the warmth and daylight☺️

To those of you in the south, make the most of autumn before the winter kicks in!

I’m planning a bit of a break for the next few weeks, for the reasons above.

See you soon, j xx

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s on it’s way!

  1. Good luck with your novel and getting outside for a run. 🙂

  2. Darlene says:

    Nice. No sign of spring here..not for a while.

    GL with your novel.

  3. So... says:

    Happy to read about your progress with the pages. Can’t wait to read it.
    Spring sort of missed us, not that we have an actual one. We crashed straight into summer! 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      Might be some time before I finish the first draft!! But I promise you a copy if I make it to the end😁😁 I remember from school geography that only countries in the temperate zones actually have 4 seasons, those near the equator or poles only 2, but to be fair spring is just the transition from winter to summer. I’d be happy if it happened overnight!!

  4. So pretty. Spring doesn’t arrive in these parts until April, sometimes May. Why people choose to live here is beyond me!

    I can always write about something, but I’m not writing a novel — prefer my writing is short spurts — good for you!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    YEAH BABY! Cannot wait! LOVE snowdrops… oh and bluebells…. the BEST!!!
    So exited for you! Cannot wait to read your novel… do you find yourself ‘thinking’ on Buddy?
    take care and do keep us posted ok xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      I love bluebells too, but will need to find some woodland to run in! I don’t think much on the treadmill – too busy trying not to fall off, checking my HR, listening to music, outdoors is better because you can just do what you feel like and my mind does tend to drift! How does it work for you? Are you a thinker or more of a social chatter er? I’d put money on the latter!😁

  6. Paula says:

    Love the picture. I am so ready for spring. Today it hit 58 in Wisconsin & l got in a 4.5 mile run. It felt wonderful. I did MAF training & it really renewed my love of running & improved my speed. I will more than likely be back on the treadmill since the temps are to drop back to the 20′ s.

    • mawil1 says:

      58f is about 14c, very nice for running! I don’t even mind being outdoors if it’s below freezing – though I try to run on trails and grass if it’s icy- I just much prefer daylight😊

  7. oscardiamond says:

    Glad to see you’re getting into a writing groove. I hope it’s relaxing as well as enjoyable. I like the feeling of creating a parallel world and dipping in and out of it at will. And don’t forget to make sure you can develop it into a series.
    Do you have a garden where you’re living at present?

    • mawil1 says:

      The writing isn’t easy but it’s still fun! There won’t be a series though, it isn’t that kind of book, but I already have the second planned😆 Why do you ask about the garden? I confess I’m not really into gardening….😳

      • oscardiamond says:

        A second book not connected to the first? I asked about a garden because you’ve got the opportunity to watch the spring bulbs come up (you’ve got to plant them, of course, or you’ll wait in vain!).It’s relaxing to see them growing on a daily basis and knowing that winter’s losing its grip.

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes! The second book is about someone who gives up their high flying career to be come a writer- but it doesn’t all go as planned and she realises the joy and true happiness to be found in a life of service to others😁 I’ll be drawing more on my own life experience for that. It isn’t very original but it’s the kind of thing people like if it’s written well! I see what you mean about the bulbs. We are currently renting and the plus point is the landlady does the garden! So I get to see the plants growing without too much effort. I have seen some green shoots so I get your point, it is good to see them coming up😊 Probably even more satisfying if you plant them yourself!

  8. Lovely photos Julie. I really think that my version of winter isn’t anywhere near as freezing as yours. Here’s the turn of the seasons wheel 🙂

Leave a Reply

