What happened to February?

I know that February is a short month, but I feel like I blinked and I missed it! It’s been a poor month for running;

fullsizerender

I haven’t blogged much and I don’t think that I have advanced much on the novel, well not in word count anyway. I was reviewing the novel yesterday. I can see lots of room for improvement, but that’s OK. Stepping away from it for a couple of weeks then coming back does give some objectivity, at least I can see what I need/want to do with it.

So what have I been doing? Spending more time with people who matter to me. Eating a bit of cake (I need to nip that in the bud- it goes straight onto the waistline!)

This morning I went out for a little jog and I had a little think. I was thinking about cee jay (ceejaykayfit) who wants to do a vegan detox, and SRG who is a vegan every day. I was thinking about recent health advice to increase fruit and veg to 10 per day and my low carb sausage and egg breakfast. What could I have for a low carb vegan breakfast? I struggled for a few minutes before hitting the jackpot – the green smoothie! Now it’s spring it will be easier to do, so shopping tomorrow for spinach, kiwi fruit berries etc tomorrow!

Then I got around to thinking about slow running girl and how she gets up early every morning to run. Why can’t I do that? I set my alarm early but I make a cup of tea and sit quietly drinking it instead of running. I confess that I like the P&Q of early morning and I like that cup of tea, but whose to say that I wouldn’t like the satisfaction of having done my run even more?

What stops people from changing? Well, fear is often a big factor. So what fear could possibly stop me from running in the morning? Honestly? Fear of being late for work, of being tired. I kid you not. Punctuality is quite important to me. As is being on top form at work. Β Is this a reasonable fear? No not really. I mean, if you get up 30 minutes earlier, you can run for 25 minutes and stop then do your morning routine. All I have to do is do it, to prove to myself that it can be done. Then keep doing it until the ‘fear’ goes away.

what would you like to change but you never do?

what could your underlying fear be?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to What happened to February?

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Your novel is a work in progress and it sounds like progress is happening. Don’t worry about speed.
    Your occupation does require you to be on top form so forsaking your peace and quiet time in the morning to run before work sounds as if you are treating yourself harshly. You are already a high achiever.Be kinder to yourself.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think the fear of being late/tired is imagined rather than real😊 I’m awake anyway so I could be doing something that I think I want to do! I just have to try it!!

  2. So... says:

    I think of fellow bloggers too when I run😊. Nice to see familiar names here.
    It’s tough balancing professional and personal commitments with running. But, something is better than nothing and March has 31 days. 😊 Enough to make up, no?

  3. You could try and go for a slow quick run once in the morning. That way you could measure the return in energy and weigh it with invested time. I couldn’t perform on a high level without my morning refresher! It would mean you don’t guess anymore. FYI if you do … your mood will be way better than normal so I tone it down if I interact with others 😊

    • mawil1 says:

      πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†the prospect of me being so happy that I have to tone it down makes me Laugh!! But I do know what you mean – I’ve been there!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    Just do it.. like you say… what have you got to lose? the fear? there ya go πŸ™‚

    This vegan detox is proving a lot harder than i thought… the green breakfast smoothie doesn’t last me very long, two hours and I’m STARVING… 2 eggs and slice of rye toast sees me on the go for at least 3-4 hours!

    Today i had kale, celery, orange, pineapple, ginger and lime, blasted with a cold mango green tea that i made and chilled last night.

    I made Bliss Balls (https://www.instagram.com/p/BRSy6yVlHXF/) during the day today, and popped one between breakfast and lunch with a cup of green tea… ITS HELPED! lets see how the rest of the day goes… not missing meat at all, had roast last night with nut loaf i had in the freezer… was good! tonight? gosh i haven’t got a clue… *big eyes* bad planning!

  5. Gareth says:

    It’s not just you! I tell myself i’ll get up early to do a dawn run ala SRG but it never ever happens as bed is warm and I am crap. I do remember from early morning dog walking that it gives you a huge lift for work!

Leave a Reply

