Not my usual run.

So the running hasn’t gone so well this week. After a great parkrun on Saturday I have just been too lazy to run all week. But sometimes stuff is just meant to be.

yesterday my car broke down on the way to work. The recovery service were there by 8am, yay! The man lifted the bonnet and sprayed lots of bits with something. No joy. He plugged in a computer and after an assessment got a big hammer out. I looked the other way. Then he told be that it couldn’t fixed by the roadside and called a truck to take it to a garage. The truck would be there by 10am.

I made a few phone calls texts and so on to sort out work. I was supposed to be operating that morning but fortunately my colleagues rallied round and managed to get all that sorted out. Now the battery on my phone was going flat.

By 10am I needed to pee. I was eargerly anticipating the arrival of the truck and transport to the garage where there would be loos.

By 10:30 there was no sign of the truck and I was getting desperate. There was no suitable cover for an al fresco emergency relief episode, so I decided to abandon the car and walk into the nearest village to look for a loo.

About 2 miles of wiggly walk later I came to the garage.

Just as I got there my phone rang – the truck man saying that he was by my car. ‘ you will have to wait ‘ I growled in my ‘spawn of the devil’ voice.

I enquired in the shop about a loo-  ‘outside and round the corner’ they said.

Sign on the door – ‘do not use, out of order’.

I went back into the shop . ‘Please can I use your staff loo?’ I asked politely.

‘No’ they said. ‘It’s against the rules -health and safey’

Reader,  what would you do?

Me, pride and dignity went out of the window ( don’t worry, as a middle aged woman you get practice y’know childbirth, gynae stuff).

Reader I begged. I explained my concern about peeing my pants. I said that if there had been a hedge I would have pee’d behind it.

The shop keepers were youngish Asian men. I could see the fear in their eyes. After all, what could be more fearful than a middle aged woman about to pee in your shop or even worse, if not quite so much fluid, burst into tears?

‘but you might sue us! ‘ they said

I promised not to sue and they let me use the loo. (Thank you youngish Asian men😁)

After that I ran back to my car. Yes I ran, in my little orange ballet flats clutching my over full hand bag.

So I did get a run in on Thursday after all😊

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, habits, middle aged women, Motivation, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Not my usual run.

  1. I told airport security I was pregnant to not get body scanned …. oh the things we do … the buttons we can press.
    Pitty you didn’t wear the garmin, wasted workouts 😎

    • mawil1 says:

      😱 wasted workout?!!! If a tree falls in the forest and no one is there to hear, does it make a sound? If a marathon is run without being posted on social media, did it really happen? If a training workout was performed with no data recording, does it count 😱😱😱😱 nooooo!!!!! The thought did cross my mind on the day😆😆😆

      • Unless you are having fun while working out. Then it counts anyhow. But you make me wonder if there is something like a Schroedingers run?

      • mawil1 says:

        Love the idea of schroedingers run! Both happening and not happening at the same time – I think we’ve all had that experience at some point😆😆

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Best vote for the Green Party. I’m sure they’ve got big plans to re-introduce all the public loos the evil Tories and idiot New labour have closed down. You could invest in a pack of shewees, of course. Lorna and my daughter have used Travel Jane which worked very well. If you’ve got running kit on, you can always do a Paula Radcliffe. I’ve now exhausted my stock of useful tips on this subject.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, post event I have discussed the she wee with a friend! Would I still need a hedge to shield my dignity? Can I use the travel jane inside the car? More research is required!😆 But more public loos would be good.

  3. So... says:

    Frustrating events do make for a funny story later, 😀. Sorry to hear about your troubles but you made lemonade out of the lemons! And made me smile with your telling of the incident.

  4. Heather says:

    Oh. Wow. You deserve a medal just for running in ballet flats!

  5. Oh wow, really? If they think you’d sue them for using the bathroom, imagine what you’d do if they didn’t, LOL!

    It’s amazing what we can do with a little adrenaline, too. I’ve literally run through airports, dragging my suitcases, to catch planes. And frankly, I doubt I’d have been able to do that if I hadn’t started to run.

    I’m sorry about the car. How frustrating. I hope it isn’t too expensive a fix!

    • mawil1 says:

      The fix- 😳😱 my car is approaching the end of its natural life at 107000 miles, but I can’t trade it in unless its roadworthy ‘sigh’ I’m currently using the cheapest hire car I could find- and of course we have had really heavy rain and flooding- I thought that I was going to break down again driving through deep water! I t has really made me appreciate my SUV which I pooh pooped when my hubs persuaded me to buy it!you are right about the adrenaline and I agree- I’m so glad that I run enough to be fit enough to run if I need to!☺️😎

      • My car is 17 years old with just 64,000 miles. The joys of working from home & retiring early! We are beginning to think about a new one. If I’m really lucky, I’ll only own a couple of more cars in my lifetime!

      • mawil1 says:

        Wow that low mileage! Mine is 7 yrs old but school runs and work commutes all add up! Less time in the car and more movement is so good for you!

  6. How frustrating Julie! I’m glad the dudes let your use their staff toilet, I do get the suing bit. The world has gone nuts. I hope your car is ok now. (and yes I would’ve begged too)

    • mawil1 says:

      Sometimes we don’t get much choice!!!! And being on the ‘weak and vulnerable’ side of life’s equation is a reminder to be appreciative of all the times we aren’t and have some empathy for those who are having a bad time.😁If I forget life has a way of reminding me!!

  7. shazruns says:

    Best to run after a comfort break! Extra kudos for running in inappropriate shoes!

    • mawil1 says:

      😆 at least they were flats!

      • shazruns says:

        Yep could have been worse! Think we should all have spare trainers and coats in our car. I got a flat tire on a country lane, in the dark, pouring rain, no coat, ballet shoes-not good!

      • mawil1 says:

        Sounds awful, I’d hate to be changing a wheel in those conditions! but yes I’m bad for nipping out in my car in ‘indoor’ clothes. Only if it’s actually snowing do I put my wellies etc in the boot!

  8. Darlene says:

    What an entertaining post…sorry about the car…hope they didn’t charge by the hour to fix it.

Leave a Reply

