April 2nd 2017

 

I feel like the running hasn’t been going that well recently. I know that I haven’t been getting the miles in.  My stats suggest  that I haven’t done well mileage wise over the last couple of months.

IMG_0799

However I just found out that my running app compares your stats with other users. So back in January I was doing more miles than 70% of users but my running pace was in the bottom 3%.

Now I’m running less, mileage at 50% but pace up to 10%

Does it matter? No not really I’m just concerned with my own results! Anyhow today was beautiful weatherwise so I went out for a 5k shuffle.

Met the new neighbours

Lots of little lambies, very cute. Big house just outside the village, no one has moved in yet but it’s the source of much gossip. Built as a private residence, from scratch (Marvelous stuff, apparently you can make meals from it too!). It’s certainly very impressive and is said to have cost £17m. I wonder if people will actually live there?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to April 2nd 2017

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    £17m? Flipping heck!!!!
    Omg too many graphs 😂😂😂😂 I too have had it with stats… just confuse me!
    Summers nearly here Jules! Imagine all the new paths you can explore around there!!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Doh! Doing this on my phone which is a pain!dont know if I just sent you half a reply! Yes I’m loving the summer light and weather. If I was doing longer runs there are places I could go, but I’m missing the choice of runs around our old house! To avoid major roads I might have to start driving to places to run if I want a bit more variety!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Urgh! I agree that being able to run straight from home is the best thing ever!!!!
        I now carry a bag and trainers with me every single day to work incase I decide to stop off for a nice route on my way home… the Poolsbrook parkrun route is on my way home and it’s the safest place ever so I head there most days… and I get home an hour later… it works for me… you will find what works for you… hey and you have Buddy!!!!

      • mawil1 says:

        True! Buddy is great and without ‘him’ I don’t think I would have done any running over winter! I still do a school run, so the run after work thing isn’t a possibility yet, though I have eyed up some routes! Mainly along the canal – it’s the only way to get a flat run around here!!

  2. Paula says:

    I’ve been struggling with running lately too. What I used to plan my life around has suddenly been hard. My drive isn’t there. I read that all runners get into funks. So I recently decided to run less & slowerto stop the dreaded miles.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes I’ve had runners funk in the past,where you find you do have the time to go for a run but you can’t be bothered! More often it’s thatcyou have to make time for running, get up early or fit it in in the evening around cooking and stuff and that tacan be difficult if you have stuff to do!!But the thing about the funk I have found is that if you just get out, it will evaporate after about 10 -15 minutes. If it doesn’t I suspect that comes under the ‘overtraining’ umbrella!

  3. Darlene says:

    My advice – don’t compare. Just do what you feel comfortable doing. The miles will come or not.

    • mawil1 says:

      True I expected to be slow- after all I run withinin a low heart rate as per maffetone method. I was just surprised to be putting more miles in. The average garmin user appears to run less than 3miles per week!

  4. shazruns says:

    The new neighbours are cute, the potential ones loaded! As for an app that compares you with everyone else, well I can’t really understand that. why? Bonkers!

  5. Gareth says:

    Awwwww the neighbours are cute! Love the way lambs have no fear of you unlike sheep. Wonder when they lose their innocence. Probably around mint sauce time I guess

  6. When we were in Sedona, on a out, they pointed out a multimillion $$ house that wasn’t occupied (except by the housekeeper). Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to throw away money like that?

    As to running, as long as you’re happy, that’s all that really matters!

  7. oscardiamond says:

    Is that £17m or £1.7m? If it’s £17m surely it should feature some nice turrets. How big are the grounds? Extensive enough to employ a hermit? Have you considered running without technology? The stats are making me anxious!

    • mawil1 says:

      That’s what they said! I’d guess 4 acres? Definitely room for a hermit, probably servants quarters too! Lovely roof looks like it’s made of some beautiful slate! I always think that people get what they deserve, so th owners either really deserve that house or they are going to get their comeuppance!

Leave a Reply

