Wednesday 5th April

IMG_0803

On Wednesday morning I woke up early  and decided to go for a run to the castle(I’m on leave this week). That’s the castle keep on the horizon. It was cloudy but the rain stayed away.

IMG_0819

Ther are steps going all the way to the top.  It was early so the castle cafe was shut (and no one collecting admission tickets😱)

IMG_0806

I made it. Then I went into town for a coffee.  Passing the witches stone on the way down. A memorial to the women who were sentenced to death through hysterical prejudice .

IMG_0816.JPGIn town I read the paper from the day before. I saw an article that amused me and I know that ther are a couple of you out there who will share my amusement.  (British eccentricity)

IMG_0818.JPG

Then I ran home again. Just over 7 miles. A good run😊 I ignored my HRM and did what I felt like – it felt good😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Wednesday 5th April

  1. Nice job! I think that’s also the first time I’ve “seen” you.
    Sometimes we really do have to run just for fun.

  2. So... says:

    Nice to see you, Julie.

  3. myquietroar says:

    I’m sure a few posts ago you said that at some point you would run to the castle again on a day that it made you feel good not stressed, and that plan worked! Sounds like a lovely day, and nice to see you too, and out a face to one of the voices of comfort and reason I have found on here!

    • mawil1 says:

      Funnily enough it was a bit of a sad day for me – I had an interview for a promotion the day before and didn’t get it!so I ended up waking up early and tried to channel that angry disappointment!it didn’t stop me feeling angry/upset but I enjoyed the run!!thank you for your kind feedback!

  4. Gareth says:

    Always do what you feel! Thats a pretty awesome run =) That witches stone is interesting stuff … to google!

  5. I read morning! Woohoo!

  6. Running to a castle and past a stone dedicated to witches…wow! Makes me want to come and visit!

    • mawil1 says:

      Well if you ever do come to visit the UK please come and visit us in Lancashire! Most people drive through on their way to the lake district from Manchester or Liverpool, but if you like fine dining there are lots of great places to eat, (and lots of great unpretentious places too) and we have lots of history! And a few hills! Once we move into our new house we can even put you up!

  7. oscardiamond says:

    Good to see you’ve mastered the art of the selfie! You’ve got a kind face which is an asset in your line of business. I’m off toTesco’s now to get some apple’s.

Leave a Reply

