New route 8.4.17

I’d thought about parkrun, but why drive all that way to run when you can run from home? It was a beautiful day so I started with a downhill all the way run into whalley – about a mile.

IMG_0831.JPG

I ran through the village, where people were sitting outside cafe’s having breakfast. In the north of England! Who would believe it!!

Quickly reaching the other end, I set my sight on my way back over the river. The small iron bridge that you can see just behind the viaduct.

IMG_0833.JPG

Did I mention that there was a bit of uphill through the village – more downhill to come but we know that that means one thing for sure (on a circular route). Once over the river and back into the village through one of the ancient gateways to whalley abbey.

IMG_0848.JPG

Then I had the choice of going back up the 1 mile hill, or a longer less steep route. Because I don’t like the windy narrow road with lots of blind corners, which would be busier now, I chose the long route for safety reasons. I thought I would just take it easy, so I did with a fair bit of walking.

All in all 4.5 miles. A nice route and one I will do again, or even adapt/enlarge!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, middle aged women, parkrun, running, sightseing, slow run, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New route 8.4.17

  1. The last photo is amazing. What a great area you live in.

    • mawil1 says:

      Lots of history that’s for sure! But I like that😊 I think that we are really lucky to live here as the countryside is beautiful too.

  2. I hear you Julie about getting in the car to go for a run. And by the looks of it where you are is perfect for running…like I said makes me want to come for a visit, it’s just so pretty and interesting where you are.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks! It all looks much better without the rain! As for ditching the car/ new runs – the thing about running is that places are never as far apart as you think they are once you lhave run them! We are lucky to live here I know😊

  3. Gareth says:

    Good run – I hope you didnt do more than 20mph past that sign!

  4. If my neighborhood looked that lovely, I’d be happy running it in!

Leave a Reply

