Wet weekend.

Bank holiday weekend means only one think in NW England  -rain.

You can’t see the hills for the clouds/rain!

The plan for today was to go to Manchester for dim sum in China town, drop the boys at Old Trafford for the United match then shopping for me at the Trafford centre. Fortunately I googled it first thing and found out that the shops are shut: so instead of wandering around an empty mall for 90 minutes, a change of plan for me – a day at home instead. I had dressed in my running gear ready to run before we left but procrastination  set in. I  had lazy cups of tea in bed, read, wrote my journal, texted some friends (I need to make more of an effort to keep in touch since my Facebook account got hacked and I deleted it) did some laundry, some housework, read all your blogs, cooked lunch and then another cup of tea.

Only then did I realise that it has been a week since my last run. How have I slipped into such bad habits?

Anyway, I shifted myself, put my cagoule on and got out. A pootle around Whalley, 4.5 miles. Nice and quiet being a bank holiday. Went through the churchyard where there’s an old Saxon cross.

IMG_0874.JPG

I have definitely slipped into some bad habits. Not enough running, a few slices of cake/chocolate have been finding their way into my diet and suddenly I’m hungry a lot. I’ve been gaining weight. On the plus side I’m sleeping well and cheerful, but I’d quite like to stay slim.

Can I outrun the cake? Or does it have to go? Can I increase my running? I think it’s time. The sun is up in the morning and so should I be.

The wi fi here is terrible, I’m doing my blog on my phone because Sunday’s are particularly bad. I think everyone in the village is using it and as we are further away from the junction box or whatever it is so slow by the time it gets to us. The point is, sorry for my lack of blogging! I used to love reading everyone’s blogs with my morning cup of tea, but now just trying to post a comment is a major rigmarole. But maybe it’s a sign, a sign that instead of blogging of checking Facebook at 6am I should be RUNNING!!!!!

To put it in the words of George Bernard Shaw (well it was in ‘my fair lady’ if not actually in Pygmalion) I need to ‘shift my bleeding arse’ and get out of bed in the morning.

Once I’m out I love it, and there’s much less traffic at 6am. Time to join SRG and the sunrise crowd.

any top tips for how to get an inherently lazy person to get out of bed in the morning instead of snuggling with a cup of tea?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wet weekend.

  1. shazruns says:

    Getting arse out of bed is always tricky! I lay my kit out ready to go, fall out of bed and in to it before my mind wakes up. Once done I feel superior and angelic the rest of the day so it’s worth it.
    Well done on your soggy outing. Move south it’s been dry here for ages!

  2. I have no tricks as I’m just like you… I need 1/2-hour at least with my tea in the morning. So it’s either get up earlier for me, OR, go run in the evening, ;D

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    I’ve been getting up at 04:45 for nigh on 15 years now on weekdays… that’s so that can get my ‘runs’ and ‘life’ done…. I would get nothing done if I started my day any later… I’m at my desk at around 06:15 and I get to leave at 14:30 latest.
    I am lucky I work flexi time…
    if things had to change I would do my run/walk in the early hours… it’s so peaceful then… winter could be a challenge… but you have summer now to get you in the habit… enjoy enjoy xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Flex time would be good! But the standard working day is 8 am until 6pm and although I can chop a little bit of paperwork off one day and add it to another it’s pretty much set. If I could work flexibly would I get up at 4:45 though? Currently that’s ‘going to the airport for a holiday ‘ time 😆 So we love that!

  4. Well, I might just have written about the procrastination bit myself. Sometimes getting out the door just seems so hard.

    Maybe try scheduling it like a work meeting & have those clothes already laid out? No cuppas until after you’ve run? Do you do better with a stick or carrot?

  5. Just don’t listen to yourself finding excuses in the morning. Sing in your head or maybe music helps? Also just agreeing to get out the front door in your kit helps … You can always go back after that.

    • mawil1 says:

      Getting my stuff ready for tomorrow now ( well in a minute). I’m not normally a night before person but I think that that might have to be the thing that has to change. 😊

  6. No tricks sorry Julie, I guess just being fit is pretty good motivation (this said on a night where I haven’t run, Pauly is cooking tea and the cat is on my lap) 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Sounds good to me! It’s all about the balance isn’t it? Sometimes we run, sometimes we snuggle by the fire with loved ones. Enjoy!😘

  7. Paula says:

    No tricks here either. I would love to run late mornings but working full time makes that impossible. So I make myself get out of bed at 4 am. I get in a 3-4 mile run before work a few days a week. I run in the afternoon on Fridays. Sunday mornings I do my long run after my coffee. It is my best run of the week.

    • mawil1 says:

      We all have our own challenges. One of the pluses of blogging is that we might be lucky enough to meet someone who’s been there and got a solution😊

Leave a Reply

