New habits?

Habits are hard to change.

I’ve been struggling to become a consistent runner for 4 years now. Sometimes I think that I’m getting there, sometimes I’m sure that I’m not!

There are lots of books I’ve read, techniques that I’ve tried. Essentially it boils down to time management and motivation. Sometimes I’m motivated but don’t have the time, sometimes the other way.

The other issue with time management is that sometimes you have the time, but it isn’t the right time. I’m a morning person. I have energy in the morning, I like to get things done. In the evening, bitter experience has shown me that if I do anything stimulating ( like exam revision, academic work or as it turns out running) I won’t be able to sleep, so all that stuff has to be out of the way by 8pm, unless I’m planning to pull an ‘all nighter’. All nighters are fine for students when you can coast the next day, but not good for middle aged surgeons,

So what to do? I dont normally get home until 7:30 which doesn’t give me much time to get a run in before that 8pm deadline ( and cook and eat). But mornings are busy!! So 4 yrs in it finally clicks. Instead of wasting all that high quality morning energy on mindless stuff like making lunch, deciding what to wear, packing my bag, I could do that in the evening. I can’t see that it would keep me awake? All those little minutes should add up to enough to do a 30minute run in the morning.

so tonight,

1 healthy lunch is in tupperware in the fridge

2 weather app checked

3 appropriate work clothes set out

4 appropriate run kit set out

5 shower prepped with toiletries and towels

6 phone charged and alarm set

And then…….

A bad nights sleep! I woke up at 2:30 and was awake for at least 2 hrs. Maybe it was the anticipation of the early morning run.

Anyhow, the sun was up and it was a cool, clear, dry, bright morning. So I JFDI. Yes it is worth getting kit out the night before- I can see how making all those little decisions normally slows you down.

IMG_0921Morning sun on the hills north west

The sheep were up early too. I met a lamb on the road, who tried to run through a wire fence and got stuck. I lifted it over the fence (either it wasnt that heavy or I’m getting stronger!). Two minutes later I met this fine lass;

IMG_0922I let her do as she pleased! We passed on the road, then when I came back I could see her trotting up ahead. She found her gap in the hedge and went back in the field. I’m not sure that the lamb I lifted over the fence was put back in the same field he came out of. I hope that he’s ok and not missing his mum. ((Guilt😱)). He looked big enough to eat grass though.

So all said, a good run in the bag before work 😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to New habits?

  1. Wow. Look at you! Sheep lifting in the early morning hours.

  2. shazruns says:

    What a start to the day. Lamb saving and early running. Please wear your underwear on the outside for the rest of the week!

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    AttaGirl!!!! Just fantastic!!!!

  4. Well done to you for being so organised and getting out there. Self motivation is difficult (i.e. when you haven’t got lots of friends doing the same thing, so that pulls you along) so I think you are right with the word ‘habit’. If you get into the habit of doing it, then you simply don’t think about it and just get up and do it. It will certainly make you feel good for the rest of the day. πŸ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes I felt quite pleased with myself at about 8am – that soon wore off though after a day at work! I can try for another dose of smug self satisfaction tomorrow😊

  5. I’m a morning person, too. But I have to have my S^%# together to make an early morning run happen, so I’ll lay out the clothes & shoes, have breakfast ready & snacks, too. It does make a difference & I hope it works for you, too.

    I’m also the same way about night running — it’s hard to get to sleep afterwards.

  6. So... says:

    Such a fun post! You really meant business this morning 😊 Lovely pics as usual.

  7. Darlene says:

    I totally get it. it is so hard to run after work. I really want to drag myself out of bed in the am. So far, I just can’t.

  8. Good job Julie!! πŸ‘Š

  9. Gareth says:

    Good thinking! Jfdi ftw lol

  10. Go Julie, saving lambs and getting that run done ❀

Leave a Reply

