Time on your own

I like the way this blog captures the things I like about running (but not cycling! Yet!) too.

We Run and Ride

nelson-beamThe idea of tracking a run or a ride by satellite on some days just seems intrusive. Who really, truly needs to know what you’re doing? Perhaps even you don’t need or want to know what you’re doing.

Just go do it. Stop worrying so much whether you’ve hit your metrics or done something to fight off the karma of the Strava trolls. Ten years from now, it won’t matter if you ran 9:36 per mile or 9:56 per mile on a four-mile run on Friday in April 2017.

There are simply times when you need some time on your own.

That’s true in life as well. I’ve spoken with more than one woman friend coming off a divorce or a dating relationship that just wants time on her own. To sort that shit out. Same goes for the guys. All people need time on our own. Sometimes.

View original post 474 more words

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time on your own

  1. shazruns says:

    Yep, it’s definitely the time on my own that for me is important with my running, I think that’s why I don’t plug in to music I find it intrusive.

  2. Darlene says:

    One of the reasons I enjoy running.

  3. I track all my runs, because it’s encouraging to me when I see improvement BUT . . .. for a lot of runs I don’t look at my watch. Start it, end it, maybe look at the pace as the mile ends.

    To me it’s the best of both worlds!

    • mawil1 says:

      I don’t look at my watch (except if I’m doing the heart rate thing) but I do like to have the info to look back on. It just gives me a sense of satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

