This one is about books.

Hello everyone.

Yes I’ve been a little bit quiet recently, sorry if you missed me. However this is primarily a running blog shared with fellow runners and as I haven’t been running much recently I haven’t had much to write about, and no pictures.

Instead I’ve been spending a bit more time devoted to my true passion, reading.

in the last 2 weeks I have read these 2 books

I know that many of my blogging friends are interested in positive mental attitude and so on – it appears to be essential for long distance, so I thought that I would share!

The positivity one was interesting. Lots of benefits to having a positive outlook, in all aspects of life including health. But it has to be genuine, apparently faking it is really bad for your heart. How do you learn to be genuinely positive? Through mindfulness meditation apparently. How positive do you have to be? A ratio of 3 positive episodes/ thoughts for every negative episode (and a ratio of 5:1 for a happy marriage!) can you be too positive? Yes, work teams who have a ratio of more than 13 positive comments for every negative one fail….. complacency is dangerous for improvement .

The second book, flourish is More interesting to me. Seligman explains that ‘well being’ is about more that simply feeling happy and has 5 components. He uses the acronym PERMA

P ositive emotion (i.e. Feeling happy)

E ngagement ie doing something that absorbs you

R relationships – getting along well with others

M meaning – something that gives life a purpose, spiritual for many

A chievement

If you have 3 out of 5 at any one time you will feel good.

There’s more to both, so please don’t think my summary says it all and puts you off reading!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in book reviews, positive mental attitude, running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This one is about books.

  1. They sound like great books. I’m a huge believer in The Power of Positive Thinking. It has worked miracles in my life, really and truly. 😁

    • mawil1 says:

      You will like these then😊 I like the seligman book because it explains why you can be content even if you arent actually feeling happy, so say you are caring for a dying relative or have a job working in a war zone, it might not make you feel happy, but it gives you meaning, engagement and relationships so you can be well doing that. Interesting!

  2. Well, first off my blog, even though it has runs in the name, is obviously about more than just running. Which of course you don’t have to write about anything other than running — but you can if you want to!

    Thanks for the recommendations. I find I have a more positive outlook when I am able to get some sunshine — which hasn’t been a whole lot lately. Today, at least, is nice & sunny right now so hopefully it still will be when I go walk the dogs & I can recharge.

  3. oscardiamond says:

    Being an awkward person, I would add Value (making it PERMAV). I think a lot of us have great difficulty in valuing what we do, or do not add particular personal outcomes to our sense of Achievement. We often devalue or fail to accept what we mean to others who may have better judgement in these matters. As for the positivity book, the Daily Mail are probably trying to get it banned under an old unrepealed heresy law circa 1549. Why aren’t you running at the moment? Just too much on?

    • mawil1 says:

      Interesting thought re value. I wondered if it would be encompassed in ‘meaning’? Daily mail would probably count it as witchcraft, but I’m not sure where they would go with that, considering that they do have the best horoscopes!! Yes I have got a lot on at the moment, but in a good way! I might write a bit about it at some point😊 I’m busy at work, but not too busy (making efforts to keep things within certain limits) and yes I suppose I’m starting to see the value of my personal contribution! It does make a difference to recognise that.

Leave a Reply

