Belfast

IMG_1010Currently I’m on study leave attending a conference. In Belfast, somewhere I haven’t been before. Although my running  kit made the journey across the sea I didn’t actually get a run in! However I have been wearing my garmin and I managed to walk 10miles on Sunday and similar on Monday. Sunday we got caught in the rain, hence the rainbow!😊

Belfast is a city of contrasts. The newly developed area by the waterfront is very modern and the epitome of sophisticated city living. The bus tour we took of the city included the areas that were involved in all the sectarian violence of years gone by. Somehow it feels as if the walls and roads were soaked in all the anger, the murals, the high wire fences, the gates (though open) still present across the roads.

How many cities like this across the world, still at war, or slowly trying to recover? It really makes me value my quiet little life, my home, my family.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, low intensity, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Belfast

  1. The rainbow… Hope for the future.

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Every deeply troubled city/society is much more than its traumatic past but Belfast, or parts of it, can’t let go and division is maintained. No wonder we feel grateful for our own safe and relatively sane environments. Walking long distances is good. Running is also good but much more over valued.

  3. myquietroar says:

    Amazing photo. Hope the conference is good!

  4. I wish we could meet for coffee. How long will you be in Belfast?

    • mawil1 says:

      I thought about you, but somehow I thought that you were further south? It was pretty full on to tell the truth and I’m actually home now! But now that I’ve been, it’s only a 40 minute flight from Manchester so suitable for a day trip! I dare say Dublin isn’t much further either. One day! We will all meet up😊!

Leave a Reply

