Interesting times.

IMG_1019When I arrived at work on Wednesday I was surprised to see a flag flying at half mast. Not surprised at the sign of respect for the victims of the Manchester bombing but surprised that we had a flag and a flagpole!

I couldn’t help but speculate on the chain of command for raising the flag. Asking around we concluded that the porters were probably in charge of the flag, it’s storage, maintenance and errection. But did they also decide when to put the flag up? Apparently the other time the flag goes up at half mast is if someone who works here dies in service.

I can imagine that our porters, who know everyone in the hospital, would be the kind of people who know and care about what happens to staff and would take responsibility for the flag but in these days of corporate image would they be allowed this kind of power?  Does our CEO even know that we have a flag? Or is the flying of the flag carefully controlled by the communications department?

So hot on the heels of the cyber attack we have the terrorist attack. We are far enough away from Manchester not to receive any casualties, but close enough for local people to have been at the concert.

The good things to come out of these events have been the way that people have pulled together and cared for others.

In my hospital, the cyber attack didn’t lead to cancelled activity, 90% of the time if people could put up with a bit of waiting around and inefficiency we worked around the loss of IT. Our whole IT department worked around the clock over the weekend, replacing hard drives on computers and setting them all up again ( we have 7,000 staff and everyone uses a computer for something). However, quite a lot of valuable information has been lost it terms of letters that had been dictated and that were waiting to be typed. Fortunately, my secretary is a superstar and keeps up to date with the typing so I have just had a handful of letters to do (and fortunately remembered most of the patients) but other departments may have potentially lost hundreds of letters.

In Manchester the public pulled together to help the victims of the attack, driving people home, bringing food and water, giving blood. There is very much a spirit of everyone pulling together and closing ranks against terrorism, against people who want to destroy peace, love and communnity.

Once again I am in awe of the resilience and spirit of the ordinary human being. How all our little tiny acts of love and kindness that we give to others can add up to something great. And the greatness is part of us all.

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Interesting times.

  1. Such sad times everywhere…what a horrible target though…madness.

    • mawil1 says:

      I suppose if you were that way inclined you would choose the target with most impact. But everyone has disowned him. Imams on TV are disowning him as a Muslim, saying that he is not one of them, he does not represent them, speaking up for all the decent muslims who live here, make a contribution to society and get along with everyone else. I’m sorry that that mans life had so little in it that the only way he could feel better about himself was to commit such a terrible act.

  2. Terrorists are such cowards, really, striking at people who cannot defend themselves.

    Such a horrifying event. Too many horrifying events. So much sadness in the world. 😦

Leave a Reply

