Pressing the reset button.

Yay! It’s holiday time, half term for the son and a week of annual leave for me. We aren’t going away, – we haven’t had a holiday since this time last year and it will become apparent why, later…….!

So things have gone a bit awry over May. I haven’t run all month (even I didn’t realise that it was that long until I checked my garmin). A few sugary treats have crept into the diet, a few glasses of wine and a few pounds have been gained.

my Facebook account was hacked resulting in me deleting it, so I’m not frittering away my time on social media and I have spent less time blogging.

Seriously, even I was shocked to see 0 miles in 4 weeks!

no running, no blogging, no Facebook, no healthy diet, what HAVE I been doing,  is this a life going into tailspin?

Fear not!

Hubs and I have taken on the biggest project of our life since having a baby.

We are building our own house!!!

It is scary but exciting. It does however take up my limited free time despite having a project manager.

So far we have a hole in the ground with concrete in it.

Now I have a week off work. Yay!!

My son is planning to revise for his exams so for me I’m hoping that I have some time to myself. Time to press the reset button and try to get back into some normal routine with some exercise, my buddhist practice, being a bit more careful about what I eat and hopefully doing a bit of writing every day. (I dream of paying off the mortgage with the proceeds from my novel🤣😂🤣😂- I’ve already pledged 50% of my profits from the film rights to charity!😂😂 and I’ve only written 12,000 words!)

Yes, I know, I’m a crazy woman, albeit a very lucky crazy woman who has opportunities to do crazy things and have wild ideas!

Have you ever had a crazy dream come true?

Do you still have a crazy dream?

Do you believe that you can make it happen?

😘

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Pressing the reset button.

  1. Exciting times ahead!! Best wishes for it all!

  2. So... says:

    My story! Except the building house bit.. that sounds super exciting. Can’t seem to shake out the running slump, turns out the knee isn’t quite there yet to take running stress.

    • mawil1 says:

      The house is super scary – it’s not really our kind of thing, but we are doing our best to stay calm! Our new mantra- it’s only money and you can’t take it with you’ it is the financial aspect that is most worrying! Te running yes I’ve slipped into a slump. I’ve always said that it doesn’t come naturally to me, yes my nature is to sit and read a book or write one! But I need to get back into it because some of my old aches and pains are returning! Give your knee time to recover. You were enjoying the swimming, and eventually your knee will improve, you will be bored of swimming and want to run instead!!😊

  3. OH that is great news! Congratulations!

  4. shazruns says:

    Oh the house sounds exciting and scary, I do hope it will feature in some blogs!
    My dream is formulating at the moment, due to redundancy notice received, it would be amazing but is it feasible that is the problem with my dream but maybe that is the definition of a dream. Blimey that’s deep for me!

    • mawil1 says:

      It’s certainly scary! The foundations are down now, and hubs and I were there yesterday going ‘OMG it’s too small!!! Panic panic etc’ then we came back and measured the rooms in our current house which are a similar size to those on the plan……just for reassurance!
      Hopefully for you redundancy comes with a nice lump sum? That should help with any dream….. 30 yrs ago my friend’s dad got made redundant. He used the money to go into business with his son, making sports nutrition products and they sold it a few years ago for millions. It was a lot of work, but mainly they enjoyed it. If you have a dream – go for it!!!

      • shazruns says:

        Thanks. Lump sum is not very large! Shame really as 8 days away from 10 years! The dream is a work in progress each time I think I can, there comes another reason why I can’t!
        Good luck with the build, so brave

      • mawil1 says:

        Sorry that the redundancy doesnt have something more to soften the blow! Keep thinking, looking for solutions to those problems😊 My husband says that nothing got easily is ever worth having…. not 100% true – I think he needs to learn to appreciate the simple things in life! But when you have worked hard for something you do appreciate it. So keep thinking about that dream……

      • shazruns says:

        I will step one conversation happens this week!!!!! No idea where it will go from there

      • mawil1 says:

        Exciting!!! I look forwards to hearing more about it when you are ready😊

  5. oscardiamond says:

    A great big adventure! It’s not a Surrealistic folly, is it? I’ve seen the floor footprint of new builds before the walls go up and the rooms look small but on completion they’ve taken on a bigger dimension. Must be some kind of optical illusion. Have you got a plot of land? Any room for a garden?

  6. Sounds like a dream! Can’t wait to see garden pics 🤗

    • mawil1 says:

      Mmm, I think they might be a couple of years away yet!! It is like a dream though, I can’t believe that this time next year we will be living there!

Leave a Reply

