That old proverb…..

You know the one, fall down 7 times, get up 8?

Did anyone ever get to 20? 50? 150?

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve started again on my fitness journey!

But this time I really am starting again, right from the beginning with C25k. None of this trying to do a 5k out of nowhere stuff.

Last week I halfheartedly downloaded the app (thank you Cee Jay for the recommendation!) but didn’t move off the sofa.

A couple of days ago it was our wedding anniversary and we went out for a lovely meal. Β The next day I stepped on the scales and I kid you not I gained 3lb over night! I know that it was probably due to the salt content or something but it was the last straw. I’ve been gaining a pound per month for the last few months, and this week my back and knee started hurting again. All that had cleared up on my junk free diet.

So this morning when I got up I got dressed in my running gear. I dropped Joe at school and when I got home I thought about having a cup of coffee – but no!!!! JFDI!!!! Β I thought.

Without stopping to put on my sports watch I made a quick decision to use the treadmill and got on with it.

IMG_1066I

It was perfectly manageable and I felt good when I’d finished. I couldn’t help but think back to my first ever attempt at C25k 5 years ago when I couldn’t even manage the 2minute jog. The only problem now is my ‘all or nothing personality’ now I have to fight the urge to do this every day and not take the rest days! My plan to combat this is to walk or row for 30mins on the rest days. πŸ’‘Β or look for a yoga class! Work on that strength and flexibility😊

Despite the feeling of being back at the beginning, I can’t help but feel that this is an opportunity to do it better this time.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to That old proverb…..

  1. shazruns says:

    Great day one! Good luck with this, you can do it. X

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    YES!!!! You got this Jules… just stick with the program and you will be AMAZING!!!!

  3. So... says:

    Considering a 0-5k plan myself. Maybe three days a week types. It’s so difficult to start slow again! BTW, that old proverb is one of my favourites.

    • mawil1 says:

      I think it’s a good idea for me after quite a long break. Definitively a good idea if you have had an injury, I think the proscribed walking breaks stop you from pushing yourself too far. And of course the built in recovery days that are so tempting to ignore…… but I’m not going to do that! It’s going to be strength and flexibility on the other days!
      The film was really good. I loved the trails but I have no intention of running a massive ultra!!!

  4. Yep just get up and keep going xxxxlooks like your first day was a good one!

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Good luck. I think your all or nothing personality combined with being time poor makes for a lot of pressure. Plus you are stats driven which doesn’t help. And now you’re filling up your rest days with more exercise. I think going back to basics is a good idea as long as you don’t sabotage it. Does this constitute a dissenting opinion?

    • mawil1 says:

      No, not dissenting. I’m not exercising on my rest days😊In the past couple of weeks I have made some very good progress, regarding setting aside time for work related activity in my diary rather than ‘doing it now’ i.e. In my holiday or at a weekend, which is the temptation – to get it done. So I’m very pleased with myself. (I’m looking for a smug emoji – they should come with labels!!) what did you think about the election results?

      • oscardiamond says:

        Good! The election panned out better than anticipated. May and her evil advisers made some whopping mistakes and she’s got the charisma of a pancake and no apparent spontaneity. I didn’t think Corbyn could survive the relentless character assassination from virtually all the media I’m familiar with and he didn’t help initially by his obvious irritatation when interviewed and general manner. But he did improve and the evil Tories completely under estimated the value of Labour grasping the opportunity to put forward their policies and finding a listening ear. Tories tend to appeal to like minded people who fear being disadvantaged as a class. Labour tends to look at the bigger picture of society and people’s disparate needs. I think the future looks a whole lot brighter for Labour. And good luck to the Tories and the DUP! (irony in operation).

      • mawil1 says:

        I was pleased too. JC has improved or at least got better media support as time goes on. Would you believe that I chanced to read the daily mail in a coffee shop and they had done a spread of photographs after the tower block fire. One TM standing alone and looking disinterested and lots of JC comforting people and looking caring. I think he came across as honest rather than political through the campaign. My Tory friends think that only people who have personal gain vote labour, people on benefits who don’t want to work etc but I see the result as a rising tide of compassion, people caring for each other – after all the terrorist attacks etc I think that people have a greater awareness of community and society and how we need each other and we need to care for each other. However they didn’t win, so we are stuck with a very dodgy govt to take us through brexit. It’s sad when the French are saying ‘we’d love you to stay’ ……

      • oscardiamond says:

        Yes, I agree. Poor Theresa can’t talk the talk and looks very awkward. JC is more natural. He’s hardly effusive. I think that Tories who make stereotypical comments about Labour voters only seeking personal (through benefits) is wishful thinking. Their underlying belief is that a large proportion of peope on benefits are shirkers and benefits shoud be culled. Market forces will sort everything out! (This has been disasterous for the NHS). Lots of EU friends in Cambridge very worried about their future.

  6. I have had to revisit C25K. And that’s not a bad thing.It’s so hard to create habits — so easy to slide back off of them. I got plenty of exercise while I was away, but all yoga & strength training went completely out the window so I’m easing back in with some bodyweight exercises.

    You’re not alone, but we can do this!

    • mawil1 says:

      You are so right about how hard it is to create habits but easy to slide back off them! You are also right that we can do this! 😁😁Go Judy!!!!!😁😁

Leave a Reply

