Making hay whilst the sun shines.

yay! Summer has arrived in Lancashire. There are tractors everywhere as farmers are literally making hay!

IMG_1068.JPGNo one is celebrating the sunshine more than my husband. Why? Well someone came to read the electricity meter and it turns out that the actual bill is more than the estimated bill. A lot more. Hubs blames it on buddy, my treadmill.

‘Really’ I said. ‘You think that 4 hours per week on the treadmill uses more electricity than the constant charging of 2 iPads, 2 iPhones, 2desktop computers and a TV?’ He wouldn’t take any excuses and kicked me outdoors for a run.

So I spent loads of time fiddling with the C25k app – trying to get the sound on, you have to switch the phone off not the app when you put it in your pocket to get the notifications, oh – and my super -expensive -at -the – time Denon running headphones don’t work any more. (They are almost 10 yrs old)

Anyway. ”Tis done. Week 1 completed (with rest days). Week 2 started. Interestingly, despite the hills and the messing around, when I run outdoors I run at the same speed I do on my treadmill (8kph) but I walk faster !

How does it compare with MAF?

IMG_1070Well my average HR is well within MAF (below 130) but the peaks are well above at upto 150. I don’t really think that I made much progress with MAF though- I think that you need the time to get those long slow miles in, realistically a couple of hours a day, which I don’t feel that I have. So I’m sticking with C25k for now -30 mins 3x per week suits my schedule much better!

so hubs is saving even more electricity with a barbie for tea😁😁😁

ahhh. British summertime – how long will it last?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Making hay whilst the sun shines.

  1. Summer is here as well. 2 days in a row now! Can’t get enough if it. It is so wonderful! Hope it stays as well. Ok I might have an overdose … but we waited long enough for it πŸ–πŸœπŸƒβ€β™€οΈ Enjoy week 2!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Maybe I should reinvest in a treadmill… I may get more BBQs made for me then… ooooh GOOD thinking Mrs!!!!! drool LOVE a BBQ… even more so when i don’t have to think about cooking!!

  3. Oh, I definitely walk faster on my treadmill (we think it’s fixed again) than outside. I am just slow at everything — plus I’m used to walking the dogs veeeeery slowly. It takes a lot of time for 2 dogs to do their business!

    Good job completing week1! You DO have this. πŸ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      The funny thing is that when I first get on the treadmill at 5kph my legs are saying ‘help can I do this?!!’ because normally I just dawdle, but by the end it seems a very leisurely pace!

  4. Gareth says:

    Who needs treadmills when you have the great outdoors anyway!

  5. oscardiamond says:

    As usual, I’m bamboozled by your stats but I gather the running’s going reasonably well. That’s good!

Leave a Reply

