Wk 4 day 2

That second 5 minute run is tough! Wk 4 calls for, with walk breaks in between, 5 minutes, 3 minutes then 5 minutes of running. I know, it’s nothing isn’t it? Anyway, it is done and before the sun went down!

IMG_1165.JPG

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wk 4 day 2

  1. Everything feels hard in the beginning! And sometimes even when you’ve been doing it for a while.

  2. Paula says:

    It definitely is something! You’re doing great! And like they say… it never gets easier, you just get stronger. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    It is so NOT nothing! Don’t do that… You would be telling me this exactly! * winks, big eyes, smiley face* you knooowwwwww you woooooould ๐Ÿ™‚

    You are doing so well… hey those first few weeks i did and re did LOADS till i was comfy moving forward! There is no race, do it in your own time, when it makes you feel good, or what is all for?

    Go back and read that post i reblogged yesterday from Yannis… ๐Ÿ™‚

    And just keep moving forward and give yourself a great big high five for every time that you do!

    You are DOING it, for you… enjoy the progress!

    The day it becomes easier, move onto the next stage. That is what i did… i didn’t move on till I loved the day i just completed. I didn’t see the point in moving it on, otherwise the next step up would have just got harder… and i would have thrown in the towel… I know how i work…
    ha ha, that was my way anyhow…

    :*

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you cee jay๐Ÿ˜˜Good advice – which unusually for me I plan to follow! I think that I might stick with week 4 for another week or 2! My heartrate goes so high and I’m not sure if that is so good for me! So I think I will do at least one more week of wk 4 – or until it feels right! And truthfully, although in the past I have notched up distance, I have never managed consistent running so to be able to run 15, 20 or 30 minutes of steady running would be a real achievement for me!

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Me neither… that is why i just slowed right down and redid weeks till it felt right. So pointless to stress about the next session. I am still doing Week nine day 3… even though I finished it, i have redone day 3, 3x now. Today, I may just take the session to 35 minutes, will see how I feel. this is treadmill!
        Road is VERY different for me and that is my challenge, i can so NOT run constantly for 30 minutes on the road. Every hill, bump etc changes that, so, you doing on the road/trails/paths i can only imagine is more difficult. You will figure it out and every run you get in makes you stronger xxx have a fab day!

      • mawil1 says:

        I hope you had a fab day too cee jay – another sunny one up here! I have done the week 4 runs on buddy – to avoid the hills! But it is useful to mix it up with the outdoors sometimes, I’m planning to do my warm up walk going up hill and then turn around and do the runs down hill! It sounds like cheating, but actually I’m just working to my abilities๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† my HR was right up to 157 so I’m trying to keep it out of heart attack territory!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    PS ๐Ÿ™‚ gorgeous pic!

  5. Gareth says:

    Stunning photo! As people are saying take your own time and stick to it. Whats the saying, good things come to those who wait

  6. 5 minutes is ridiculously long. I had a special playlist with 5 minutes songs to get me through them …

  7. Darlene says:

    Beautiful pic.
    Running is never easy…just sayin.

Leave a Reply

