Up and down hill

Today I did day 3 wk4 C25k.

I planned it so that leaving the house it was a gentle up hill for the 5 minute warm up, first 3 minute jog, the first walk break then I turned around and ran downhill for the two 5minute jogs and the other 3 minute one.

I did proceed onto a steeper down hill, which was part of my walk back. I took pictures of the down hill and the uphill. It all looked so obvious when out running, but in the photos you can’t tell the difference between up and down!!!

IMG_1209IMG_1211In fact it doesn’t look hilly at all!

This is what my garmin said about it;

IMG_1237.PNG

That’s metres by the way 😁 I know it isn’t alpine but it felt quite hilly to me!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Up and down hill

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Brilliant!!!! Bloody well done!!!! A hill is a hill! You did a fab job!!!

  2. Wonderful! You are right it does not look like the elevation chart! I would love to wear glasses during my runs that make hills look like on photos …
    Oh and I think what you are doing is called ‘reverse hill sprints’. (If that doesn’t exist in official running books that is because it is an advanced slow running technique.) It means you walk up the hills and then turn around to run down. Trying to keep the same heartrate. 😉

    • mawil1 says:

      You are right about the heartrate, even running downhill, trying to keep going for 5 mins takes my HR upto 154! So I think that officially makes it interval training!!! And walking back up the hill keeps me at MAF so I think I’m getting the ’80’ in for my 80/20 work! It’s always disappointing the way that hills just dont come out in photographs! Maybe a camera phone just doesn’t have the depth of field to give perspective🤔😊

  3. Paula says:

    Ummm, yeah, I’d say that was hilly! Super pretty too!! 😁

  4. oscardiamond says:

    The Garmin cannot tell an untruth! Next time you might get a better hill picture if you lie face down in the middle of the road and take it from that perspective. Of course you would need to look out for tractors, etc in order not to get squished and have an explanation ready for alarmed non runners. Hope these tips are helpful.

    • mawil1 says:

      Well I should try it once just for the experience/to see if it works!! Some of my colleagues live nearby though, I’d be worried about them dobbin me in and getting me sectioned/suspended. Maybe I could wear a bag on my head. That would sort it all out!!

      • oscardiamond says:

        Don’t worry. I would speak on your behalf at a Mental Health Review Tribunal or suspension appeal. And think of the blogging opportunities! “How I tried to run on the spot in a padded cell” etc

      • mawil1 says:

        Mmm don’t fancy running on a padded floor. No springiness at all! Not sure how I’d blog with my arms in a straight jacket either……

  5. It is very, very difficult to capture a hill on camera. I actually think I did a pretty good job with it this week, but I totally believe you!

  6. Gareth says:

    Isnt it amazing how the slightest incline can make you work so much harder! A hill is a hill and gravitys a bitch!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes – gravity has a lot to answer for! The number of women I get in my clinic asking me what has gone wrong with their boobs coz they have gone droopy!!😂😂

  7. Hills ❤ well done Miss E!!!!

Leave a Reply

