Does running help with weight loss?

Choclaterunsjudy asked this question today. Here’s my reply!

IMG_1240IMG_1241I’ve been reflecting on this myself for a week or two and my answer is yes! As the miles have gone down, the weight has gone up (and the back ache/sore knees/sore ankles has reappeared). To be fair I was also doing a low carb diet last summer, but came off that earlier on in the year. Someone pointed out to me that it might not be great for my mental health/mood. I hate to admit it but they might have been correct.

So now, I really want to get back to my 10 miles per week as I don’t want to get any fatter! And I really want to get rid of my joint pains.

It is a challenge! However, I am not defeated๐Ÿ˜Š

Time for another attempt at wk 4 day 3. ย Fortunately this cloud has rained itself out this afternoon…

IMG_1239.JPG

For real!!!! Like something from a disaster movie๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Does running help with weight loss?

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    HolySh*t that’s an OMINOUS cloud!!!! It CHUCKED it down here… like serious flood style too, thunder and lightning…
    J you will do it! You have the ‘go’ in you! Watch this space! I can feel the determination in your writing ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

  2. Wow! that IS quite the cloud!

    I read once that the “magic number” for weight loss & running is 15 miles per week for men, and something like 20 or more for women. But we’re all different! And I find that I tend to do best on a very loose carb cycling diet — lower carbs on days where I’m not as active, higher on days that I am more active. Again, that’s me!

    • mawil1 says:

      20 miles per week? That would be 2 hours if running 5 days per week for me, not counting all the getting ready and shower time!

      • I ran 19 last week & it took me approximately 4 hours (I’m pretty slow).

        But hey, it’s just a statistic. Stats can lie. If it’s working for you, that’s all that matters!

  3. Paula says:

    Great cloud pic!! Better you than me, lol! Like I told Judy, running doesn’t help me with weight loss. As I’m food sensitive, only diet helps… the exercise is just added bonus, ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha! The cloud reminded me of Charlie Brown, with his own little raincloud over his head! It was over my office! Behind me was blue sky with fluffy white clouds! I don’t know if the weight loss was down to the low carb diet or the running – but they both fell apart around the same time and the weight is piling back on now!!

  4. Darlene says:

    Running doesn’t help me lose weight at all. I’m not overweight but I was 10 pounds lighter before I started running. I run at least 15 miles per week.

    I actually lost weight when I was injured and I didn’t run for 5 months (I just sat!!)

    I am someone who needs energy to run. That means I can’t skip meals and I need to eat before I run (and preferably carbs). I also need to re-fuel after. I eat better, more and more often since I starting running.

    I could diet and cut out carbs but my running would suck and I would be grumpy.

    So I have decided to keep running and keep those 10 lbs (unless they disappear mysteriously).

  5. fithotbod says:

    I can’t run… can barely walk with bursitis in my hips and ankles, arthritic knees… I read somewhere that something in fat cells contributes to arthritis. It’s not just because of the strain put on joints.

    That’s why I gotta stay motivated. Weight loss stopped after my second surgery in Jan. Gotta get everything back on track.

    I think going too low carb isn’t sustainable. I want to eat balanced for the rest of my life. Carbs are important and even if you go with the Mediterranean diet, carbs are 40% of your diet.

    Do you stick to certain macros?

    • mawil1 says:

      I don’t to macros. I eat rice for carbs. Avoiding wheat and sugar means no cakes, biscuits, pastry or bread. It also excludes many breakfast cerials. You can manage fine without them nutritionally! I read somewhere that no one ever binged on brown rice and vegetables….. So I can eat as much as I like and I get plenty of carbs from rice, pulses and veg. Its taken a while for me to find the balance of what works for me. But giving up sugar was the big step. I can’t believe that I used to add sugar to my coffee – 4 or 5 cups per day!

      • fithotbod says:

        Luckily I don’t like my coffee sweet. But if I have hot herbal tea, I add some sugar. I’ve cut out desserts and prefer strawberries instead. I haven’t had any dessert since January. And that was only because I was staying with my sister while recovering from surgery. But I just don’t buy it. Prepared desserts are so expensive, so it helps me say no to ice cream etc. I eat less than 10 g of added sugar/day.

      • mawil1 says:

        Less than 10g sugar per day is quite an achievement! My eating plan went out of the window when I was on holiday ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† I appear to have gained weight but lost fat now I’m back on the scales, probably just water but I will see how it settles out over the next couple of days.

      • fithotbod says:

        Thanks!

        I had gained 9 lbs in 10 days after surgery in Jan. I ate more but not THAT much! I lost about half of that (water weight?) but now I’m stuck. I just got my first cortisone shot in my knee on Friday. Maybe it will help which will make walking easier.

      • mawil1 says:

        You definitely retain water after surgery – I’m a surgeon so I know! It’s well researched ! You tend to lose it as you recover though, a few days later. Being able to walk more will be a big help. Are you doing some physio too? Strong muscles round the joint are really important ๐Ÿ˜Š

      • fithotbod says:

        I lost about 4 pounds but a few weeks after I came home. But how could I have gained 9 pounds in ten days? That was weird.

        I’ve been doing physical therapy for my shoulder. I couldn’t walk much. I finally was cleared to go into the pool but only breaststroke. I did modified water aerobics. But I couldn’t do much because it my movements were “off” as I basically didn’t have use of my dominant arm.

        So I’d go to the gym and do legs, hips and abs.

        I finally got cleared to do full body workouts in August. Almost 9 months later.

        I also got a cortisone shot in my left knee because my meniscus was torn for over ten years before it was diagnosed and had surgery. So I have bone-on-bone arthritis in my left knee. And I have arthritis in my right knee too.

        The cortisone shot helped the pain, although it’s still swollen a bit. I’m thinking I should get a cortisone shot in my right knee too.

        My gait has improved since the shot.

        I’ve got really weird swelling on the outside of my ankles. Especially my right. It’s large and ugly. Getting an MRI on the ankle tomorrow.

        I’m working out 5/days per week, drinking 84 oz of water or more daily, and eating around 1200 – 1500 calories daily. I don’t see any weight loss.

        I log my food daily. And I’m very frustrated. And concerned. ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ

      • mawil1 says:

        I hope that things improve for you soon.

  6. I must have missed this post while I was away… (Sorry!) But I certainly agree that running does lead to weight loss, as my little pre-marathon ‘experiment’ proved last year. I find that only running, and not even long hikes going up 1,000m (3,000+ft) or more, helps to reduce my weight.

Leave a Reply

