wi fi free Sunday.

This is not a lifestyle choice!

Sundays, lovely Sundays a day of rest and relaxation. I wake up, make a cup of tea and get back into bed, snuggling down to read everyone’s blogs. By 9am I’m ready to pen a few words of my own – and it all goes pear shaped. The wi fi just stops working. Today, I spent half an hour trying to add a couple of photographs then gave up. I’ve been in and out all day, kept trying to no avail and then here we are 7pm and suddenly it all comes back, a whole day of emails pop through. It’s the same every Sunday, one of the perils of rural life I think. I guess that everyone in the village is home on Sunday and wants to use the wifi๐Ÿ™„

Anyhow, onto running.

I managed 3 runs last week. (Good!)

I’m struggling with the 5 minutes of continuous running so I have done wk4 day 3 twice and week 5 day 1 twice (and will probably be doing it at least once or twice more before I move onto wk 5 day ย 2 which calls for 2x 8minute runs).

On Friday I was un- characteristically organised. I had an appointment after work near to where I used to live, so I took my running kit to work and went for a ‘nostalgia run’, down by the canal.

IMG_1250

Some changes!

IMG_1251

But still flat!

I didn’t use my C25k app – I did more of a ‘free run’ but when I looked at my garmin afterwards I’d covered the same kind of distance in the same time as I have been doing.

next week I’m hoping to do alternate day running and get 4 runs instead of 3.

only a small target, but actually I find it difficult to achieve this consistently!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to wi fi free Sunday.

  1. shazruns says:

    Nooooooo, slow wifi is painful damthise others using it on Sunday!
    Great running and pics as ever x

  2. It’s always frustrating when the internet goes Poof! but I always take it as a sign that I’m meant to do other stuff. Unless I have something I really need to do — in which case it’s totally aggravating.

    3 is definitely easier to juggle than 4! You’re doing a great job on working your way back up sensibly. Sounds like it’s paying off, too.

  3. Paula says:

    Well done Julie!! 3 runs is a great balance! I know you’re going for 4 next week, so good luck!

    Sometimes the internet acts up out in the middle of nowhere at work. I get so aggravated, especially in this day and age, lol! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • mawil1 says:

      Apparently countries like Nicaragua which never managed a line based telephone system have fantastic mobile phone coverage because the wireless infrastructure was so much easier to put in place!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    OMG, WIFI probe are enough to have me willing a hermit life up in the highest of mountains with ZERO contact! Seriously, gadget sh*t is the bane of my life! *lolol* First world probs hey!!!

    Your run along the canal sounds the biz! Phew i did and re did so many of my first weeks, i think the 9 week program took me 15 weeks when i think back… like you, I moved on when I was happy that i could easily finish my segments without ‘dying’… like you said the other day… NOTHING is lost, you can only gain by it and every little run counts towards making you strong, building your base and gaining confidence!

    Enjoy this week! hope the weather holds out!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, I just don’t see the point of going on to the next segment if you can’t do the last one. It isn’t like I’m not trying! But the third of those 5 minute runs I just had to pack in at 3 mins- my hr monitor tells the story! The nice thing about the app is that it gives you the opportunity to repeat a day or skip it, so you don’t feel like you are doing something unusual! As for technology – where would I be without the app, the phone, the hr monitor, the treadmill? All there to make it easier for a Dufus like me๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Slow told me to SLOW it slow it down… she is a clever girl! I did… and it so helped… it doesn’t matter how far you get, its getting there that matters… chat with her…

        My thoughts…
        Does your watch give you HR zones? After I had to repeat a few sessions… started with nerves at how much running time was being increased…. Slow said GO SLOW ๐Ÿ™‚

        I then worked my whole C25K in my Blue/Green zone, which is Zone 3.

        Now that I have moved onto the 5-10K on the Polar, its giving me Zone4/5 intervals but like for 3 minutes only… then 5mins in the Green/blue etc.

        Some days like on Sundays long run, i had to stick in zone2 (max 127BPM)… I though WTF? but i did a whole hour and it was AMAZING…

        Try take the speed right down… I think if you managed to conquer the ‘time’ thing, pace etc can THEN be worked on.

        xxx

      • mawil1 says:

        ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Šyes, the zone 2 is my ‘MAF’ HR. I managed the first few weeks of C25k without straying into zone 4 too much, but week 5 puts me in zone 4 about 50% of the time. I think that the downhill running would be better than the treadmill for that, but I havent tried it with the wk 5 runs yet!

  5. fithotbod says:

    No wifi would drive me nuts, but otherwise I’d love the rural life. Give me a couple of cats and some big dogs, and I’d be in heaven.

Leave a Reply

