Exploring the final frontier.

Of the Roman Empire that is! OK so I’m a few centuries out of date but hey! What’s new? So I have persuaded the family that walking Hadrians wall would be a great way to spend a holiday.

Hadrian’s wall was built across the north of England to keep out the ‘northern barbarians’. Started in AD122 with various modifications over the years. It’s about 80 miles long and stretches from coast to coast, tynemouth/Newcastle at the east, solway firth at the west.

There are lots of excavated roman ruins to look at along the way.

We aren’t walking the whole thing, just 40 miles in the middle. The weather forecast was for rain, but fortunately for us they got it wrong and we had a bright and sunny day.

IMG_1328We started our visit in corbridge, where we visited a museum, then started our walk in chollerford. In low lying areas, much of the wall has disappeared, the stone having been taken in years gone by to be used in local buildings, but once you get onto the hills, there are lots of sections of wall to be seen.

We walked to housesteads, and from there we got a taxi into haltwhistle where we are spending the night. I confess, that by the end my legs were sore, and I thought that I would be stiff and sore today, but actually I’m not too bad. I did ‘catch the sun’ though, despite my SPF 20 facecream, and am now sporting that very British look of bright red face and yellow wild hair!

My garmin says that we walked 14km.

IMG_1338

The last couple of miles coming up to housesteads were a bit hilly.

IMG_1326

Lovely scenery

IMG_1331

Remains from the temple of Mithras

My teenage son is not entirely impressed with this as a holiday, but I think it’s a teen thing. He’s enjoyed walking in the lakes before but of course this doesn’t have the joy of reaching the peak of a mountain. However he now appreciates a good tea shoppe! Bribery with food is all that’s keeping it together!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, garmin, hills, holidays, Local history, running, sightseing, travel, Uncategorized, walking. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Exploring the final frontier.

  1. oscardiamond says:

    It looks like a lovely walk and you’ve been lucky with the weather. Where are the tourist hordes? Did you touch the Temple of Mithras stones and feel the past? Wouldn’t it be fascinating if you spontaneously began to speak in Latin. Don’t worry about your son. He’ll really appreciate this holiday in around fifteen years time so be patient. Carpe diem!

    • mawil1 says:

      Tourist hoardes? Concentrated around the gift shop/ visitors centre. On day 1 it was 8 miles betweeen 2 visitors centres so only die hards in between! The visitors centres next to the excavations were accessible by road, so quite busy!

  2. Gareth says:

    Looks beautiful! Hope the weather keeps well =)

  3. Having done several of the UK’s long distance footpaths (mostly in relay format) I’ve often thought about walking Hadrian’s Wall, but never quite got around to doing it. Instead, a friend and I are planning on doing the Inn Way to the Dales in a few weeks – beer always wins over history with me! πŸ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      πŸ˜†I like a nice pub meal – just on our way shortly! But nothing beats the excitement of a really good tea shop! Sadly a lot of places on the trail seem to do self service tea and pre packaged cake bars. I suppose that you need a proper village for a pub or a cake baking tea shop. We like the history too though. It fascinates me how unchanged humans are after nearly 2000 years!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    HOW FAB! wow! enjoy enjoy!!!!

  5. Paula says:

    It looks wonderful! And one day your son is going to look back on this trip with much love, because you did it as a family, πŸ€—

  6. This is cool! I was not aware of this walk. Thanks also for activating comments again πŸ€—

Leave a Reply

